3 Go To Spring Looks for New Moms – Because Nakedness is not an Option

4

March 19, 2013 by Katia

Remember the time you had to push out a person and then for three months you “walked” around feeling like you were just hit by a truck, but society still expected you to wear clothes?

Hello, I am The Milk, welcome to my blog! Despite the impression you may get from my last two posts, I don’t always whine about fashion here. I recently spoke to my friend, the fabulous Anat from Anouk Jewellery, and she came up with the idea of a fashion “how to” post, specifically how to dress in spring when you’re a new mom. And since my own wardrobe includes a Spit Up Friendly category, fashion is clearly a subject that I’m qualified to discuss.

The three looks I came up with are easy to follow. They take into consideration the fact that people who rarely shower, will most likely not curl-iron their hair into Victoria Secret inspired bouncy locks and wear makeup. Which is why my hair in these photos is pulled up in an awkward bun. I did wear chapstick and mascara, because I respect you too much.

0-3 Months – Cabbage Leaf in Bra Stage

OUCHY. You’re slouching tiger sleepless dragon, slouching in an attempt to not let your clothes touch ANY part of your body. You can barely walk, but may need to pick up your older child at daycare or perhaps you’ve got company over to see the baby. There might be a cabbage leaf or two in your bra, but you don’t want to scare the guests. What’s your move here?

March 2013 083

Ouchy top: wear a loose fit T-shirt. A vertical pattern like a knot, some frills or a ribbon can help cover up the mid section. Let me plunge deep into “not my comfort zone”. Leakage accidents. There, I said it. The scarf (H&M) can be undone to cover yourself up. The military style jacket is also a loose fit.

Ouchy bottom: I wore these Topshop tights before, during and after both pregnancies. That’s the great thing about tights. I’ll be wearing them for all three looks.

3-6 Months – Ready, get set, spit up!

The next two looks are interchangeable.

March 2013 097

I hate to break it to you, but that cloth diaper thingy hanging off your shoulder to protect you from spit up is not gonna cut it. Which is why you need to be dressed in spit up camouflage.

Dirty top: why is the checkered bolero jacket a good choice for this stage? The boxy shape covers up the mid section yet again. Also, the checkered pattern is a much better spit up camouflage than, oh say that dark purple top I was wearing when eating out with 7 Month Old last week. You can do the math.

- Dirty bottom: same tights.

6-9 Months – The Grabber Baby

March 2013 099

Welcome to my life. There’s a duck shaped potty in my living room. Also, I can’t talk on the phone, type on my computer or eat without having to worry about whether the contents of my cereal bowl clash with my outfit or not, because the Grabber Baby is into everything. Which is why it’s probably a bad idea to wear jewellery at this stage and possibly a bad idea to wear a scarf, but since this is the only photo of me that I actually like, too bad, the scarf stays.

Stretched out and chewed top: Peplum tops are very popular right now and it’s ideal for us who 6-9 months postpartum are still packing some extra weight around, all together now: that’s right, the mid section!

9-12 Months – Blank canvas

Not really a look, because I’m sorry, I forget. I have no idea what babies do at 9-12, but I imagine they should be more active and heavy but still spitting up. So you’re on your own on this one, fly little birdies. But don’t forget to chirp or tweet tweet your own fashion tips.

March 2013 120

Is there anything you can add to this?

4 thoughts on “3 Go To Spring Looks for New Moms – Because Nakedness is not an Option

  1. Jack Markish says:

    Какая же ты очаровательная, тебе очень идут детки!

  2. Abigail says:

    As a very soon to be new mom this “spring” (in quotes because I don’t care what the calendar says, it is 30 freaking degrees outside and that is NOT spring) I love this. I plan to show this to the huz when I try to convince him why I need to buy ALL the scarves in the very near future.

  3. Katia says:

    Of course you need scarves! And more scarves! You also need flats, and heels for when you’re ready to stop wearing flats and a few jackets. And maybe a hat or two. :-) I can talk to him if he needs further convincing, but I think that you pushing a person out should do it.

    I think of you and wish you a safe delivery :-)

Leave a Reply

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree

I’m also the Recruiter Mommy…

Featured on:

Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10,446 other followers

Practicing their cool guy look.

The Julie DeNeen Awesome Blogger Award. Thank you, Julie. You rock. The last thing I want is to lose more sleep.

Donate-a-post-iv
Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
mumsnet

http://thebigblogcollection.wordpress.com/

Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,446 other followers

