Chronicles of 4 Month Old’s First Second Day of Hanukkah

18

December 11, 2012 by Katia

Sunday, 9:30am

3 Year Old: But mommy, how do babies get IN your belly?

Me: Ahhhhm, ahhhhm. Daddy gives something and mommy gives something and it becomes a baby.

He seems satisfied.

12:30pm

36 Year Old and me (artificially enthusiastic voices): Ok, time for lunch and today we’re having Latkes for Hanukkah!

3 Year Old: (artificially sweet voice) Can I save some for later? (euphemism for “this is yucky and I am never ever going to touch this again FOREVER!”)

Not Latkes

Not Latkes

2:30pm

Getting ready to leave for a Hanukkah party at our friends’ house.

36 Year Old: It’s time to wash this carrier, it stinks.

Me: You mean you haven’t washed yours yet??

36 Year Old: You mean you think of this as a ‘mine’ and a ‘yours’ situation and you’ve washed yours but not mine??!!

Me: No, of course not! (explanation: we have two carriers for 4 Month Old, one that 36 Year Old wears and one that I do: a mine and a his).

Argument continues, while we intermittently try to get 3 Year Old dressed for Hanukkah party.

3 Year Old (barking): I wish you a merry Christmas, I wish you a merry Christmas, I wish you a merry Christmas, duh Happy New Eaaaar! Good tidings we braaaaang to you and your kaaaaang, good tidings for Christmas duh Happy New Eaaaar! (loops for the next 20 minutes.)

I call my friend Anya’s house, her husband Guy picks up.

Guy: I thought of a rapper name for you. I have two options, you have to tell me which one you like better.

Me: ok.

Guy: K-Dog or K-Biz (the original presentation was longer and better).

Me: First of all thanks for recognizing that I need a rapper name. I’ll have to think about it and get back to you at the party (but in my heart of hearts I already know it’s going to be K-Biz).

Guy: ok.

"Rapper School" en el bar Distorzion

Word to your mama. (Photo credit: anthonyqh3, “Rapper School” en el bar Distorzion )

4pm

At the party after running a little late because of spilling the sour cream we were in charge of bringing on the front porch of our house and having a little argument about who’s fault it was we left late.

3 Year Old: Where did Liam disappear?

Me: He went to pee. (trying to stop 3 Year Old who is climbing up the stairs from barging in). We don’t follow people to the washroom! (It doesn’t  work).

After a while.

3 Year Old: Where is Liya?

I run up the stairs to catch up with him.

After 2 minutes.

3 Year Old to our host Anat: I need to pee!

Me: I’m coming!

In the washroom.

3 Year Old: I have to pee and even poop. But how do we change our bum here? (explanation: Where are the wipes?)

As we head down the stairs I notice that 3 Year Old is attempting to make a public announcement from the top of the stairs, Mussolini style.

3 Year Old: Guys, guuuuuys! (no one hears him and he decides not to waste any more time but instead to inform each guest individually).

3 Year Old to Dave he’s never met before: Guess what, I just peed and pooped! (Dave high fives him). He proceeds to tell each grown up guest separately now holding out his hand in anticipation of a high five.

Liam, 4 Year Old friend, to his dad, Guy: Why is he so happy that he peed and pooped?

The question remains unanswered as we sing Hanukkah songs except for 3 Year Old who sings his version of We Wish you a Merry Christmas, which he might as well because it’s either that or “Monica, Monica have a Happy Hanukkah”.

Happy Holidays everyone!

18 thoughts on “Chronicles of 4 Month Old’s First Second Day of Hanukkah

  1. Julie says:

    You’re a riot! Now I havta follow you. New follower from the BSN blog hop.

  2. […] belly?’ 3 Year Old likes to ask me from time to time, but only when I’m alone and unprepared. The first time the subject was brought up, I gave a one size fits all explanation saying that mommy gives something, daddy gives something […]

  3. Kerry says:

    Hahaha, so cute! The things kids say and are proud of. =)
    TALU

    • Katia says:

      I know🙂 It was our fault for making a huge deal about him learning to use the potty not just for pee. Ah, once upon a time I didn’t talk about poop publicly.

  4. Such a family! My favorite part was dropping the sour cream and arguing for a minute about whose fault it was. And of course “kaaaang” and “braaang.”

  5. I never got around to having kids of my own, and my nephews are older, so I’ve forgotten how funny it can be spending time with little ones. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂 [#TALU]

  6. Anne Kimball says:

    Three year olds are such a hoot, aren’t they? Thanks for linking this up with the TALU!

  7. DMcCormick says:

    hahahaha oh no – sounds like one of our outings. (talu)

  8. shannon says:

    glad i’m learning enough about blogging to have gotten a little TALU to bring me the funny. you’re a hoot! I thoroughly enjoy your POV.

  9. LOL. Kids. They are so funny. And say and do the darndest things at the most inopportune time. Love the guy who gave him the high 5. Thanks for linking to TALU!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
