Finding Nemo in your Hamper Basket – Sign #26 that You’re a Parent

22

February 4, 2013 by Katia

nemo23

Sign #26 that you’re a parent: you’re at work in your corporate office, wearing a suit, with your hair pulled back, using proper language and shit. You reach for your bag to look for your glasses and you pull out these. True story.

Bag

Bag

These

These

They are midget size and have Elmo on them and they were a gift from grandma. The only reason you still have your job, is because you’re a parent. No one’s surprised, you’re supposed to be a loser, moving on.

Hello, I am the Milk and I’ll be delivering this crash online course on finding objects in places they don’t belong (a.k.a. Parenting 101) Like this baby and the laptop on my bed.

February 2013 028

Exercise 1: Can you help The Milk identify the 2 objects that don’t belong on the bed?

Anyone knows that laptops belong in your home office and babies sleep in cribs.

Well, not in this house.

Exercise 2: Can you help The Milk identify the object/s that do/es not belong on the banister?

Exercise 2: Can you help The Milk identify the object/s that do/es not belong on the banister?

I’m sure that by now you’ve noticed the Otrivin drops on the banister. And as you can see objects being placed where they don’t belong is not entirely the kids’ realm, but then again would I even have Otrivin infant Saline drops on my banister if I didn’t have kids? Must be a parent! Boom!

I can’t begin to tell you how many times a day my going about my business gets interrupted when I notice some avant garde object groups and outside of the box arrangements and go ‘really? You’ve got be kidding me’ before I go back to going about my business.

Also, no one golfs in this house.

Also, no one golfs in this house.

A few weeks ago I wrote about a high-heeled shoe shaped cake slicer, an egg beater and a swim board all found on my bathroom floor. Of course they were all since sent to their proper places and this is what the bathroom looks like now.

February 2013 019

February 2013 015

A Christmas decoration 3 Year Old made in school makes 36 Year Old’s soap and deodorants feel festive in February.

This spider is a rescue from the Halloween accessory bag. It makes the sign on the kitchen isle feel Hitchcockian.

This spider is a rescue. He comes to us from the Halloween accessory bag. The spider makes the sign on the kitchen isle feel unintentionally Hitchcockian.

We’ve identified three categories of non-belonging: 1. Wrong room 2. Wrong season 3. Nobody plays golf in this house.

I now invite you to examine your house and if you find signs of 1, 2 and 3 then cherchez l’enfant. They’re probably somewhere they don’t belong.

Boy in a box

Boy in a box

***************

Found any strange objects in strange places?

22 thoughts on “Finding Nemo in your Hamper Basket – Sign #26 that You’re a Parent

  1. Very funny! I’m not a parent (yet), but your blog gives me some insight into my future! Love it!

    • Katia says:

      Thanks so much, Katie! I love that you think it’s funny instead of it being a parenting turn-off🙂 Yes, the future is full of child underwear in your Calvin Klein bag and other wonderfully unpredictable things. You’ll love it.

  2. Jack Markish says:

    Чудные фотки сопровождают этот пост, какие же они милые!

  3. Rachel Dei-Amoah says:

    Katia I have so been there!! LOL.

  4. Emily says:

    Very cute and great photos too! My kids are a bit older than yours (2 teens plus a 9 year old) but I still find objects where they don’t belong. Cell phones in pants or vanished altogether, shoes in the hamper (WTF?), and homework left at school instead of at home where it’s supposed to be done. Yeah, my list is endless.

    • Katia says:

      Thank you, Emily, and nice to meet you! I’ve jut read your post on Fabulous Blogging yesterday and have yet to visit your blog. I
      Oh the shoes in the hamper – thank you for the glance into my future.🙂

  5. Stephanie Sprenger says:

    Brilliant! I loved this post and I am right there with you. Welcome to the Bloppys- glad you joined us! Can’t wait to read more of your stuff- so funny and entertaining, and right up my alley as another “mommy blogger”.🙂

    • Katia says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Stephanie. I’m gonna rush over to your blog and pay you a visit :-)! I’m happy you were entertained. I look forward to getting to know you better through your blog and the group🙂

  6. Hahahahaha this was great. I don’t even have kids and I suffer from a lot of wrong thing in the wrong place syndrome…I think that’s called having a husband.

  7. Rich Rumple says:

    You remind me of a time long ago, when the kids were young and the house was fun. Now, the cats and their toys take their place. Stuffed mice, rubber balls, catnip filled creatures and beds … it was easier with the kids! Funny blog!

  8. Christina says:

    I love this! I’m constantly finding stuff in places they don’t belong. I looked for a cookie press disc for a year and finally found it inside a box of baking soda.

  9. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?

    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from
    a lot of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks a lot!

    • Katia says:

      Hi, thanks for doing me the courtesy of asking, I appreciate it. I’ve never perceived my blog to be very informative, just more of a personal stream of thought, but sure go ahead! Please send me the links to the post. I’d be curious to see the context. Have a great week!

  10. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple
    ipad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot
    drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple
    ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  11. Your mode of telling everything in this paragraph is really nice, all be capable of simply know it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
