So Much Good

5

April 4, 2013 by Katia

Except you won’t hear about it here. You’re on the wrong page. I’m over at Fabulous Blogging today. My dream of being cloned came true and I’m at two places simultaneously. After I finish talking about so much good and my experience as a first year blogger on Julie’s blog, I’ll go to sleep. That way at least one of me will get some rest. Seriously, though, Julie is a mover and shaker. She is involved in so many great initiatives and her blog is a great resource for beginning and seasoned bloggers. Please check out her blog and my post about the good, the bad and the ugly in blogging.

Since I don’t expect anyone who hasn’t been cloned to read two of my posts on the same day, I just thought I’d quickly talk about my plans for the blog. 

– When I was in university I had a professor who’d say “so about that test” whenever he needed to capture our attention. So, about that giveaway. Yesterday an e-book by Life Well Blogged has been released and IAMTHEMILK is featured. Twice! The book is already ranking #11 in Kindle sales on Amazon. I will have a few copies to give away. More details on the contest next week.

– IAMTHEMILK will continue in the same format , but I’m planning to introduce a couple of new categories. Let me share one of them with you. When I started my blog it was very important for me to use this platform to talk about a subject that’s pretty much defined me in the last couple of years, fertility treatments and miscarriage. I was hoping that an abstract reader reading my posts on the topic would find some comfort in them. Recently I came across quite a few posts devoted to miscarriage, which led me to realize that not only does the anonymous reader draw comfort from the post, but so does the writer through the process of putting the experience into words, as this often too difficult to talk about while we go through it.

I came up with the idea of hosting guest posts on the subject. I’ve connected with fellow bloggers and I hope to be able to start featuring posts in the next couple of weeks, but I would love to accept contributions from other bloggers and readers as well. Both moms and dads – present and future are welcome. I will review all posts and get back to you. Please email me at: iamthemilkblog@gmail.com

Thanks so much to everyone that’s joined me on Twitter, Facebook and the blog in the last few weeks. You have no idea how heart warming this is!

Katia

5 thoughts on “So Much Good

  1. I would really love to offer a guest post from a friend’s perspective. One of my best friends hid the fact that she had had a miscarriage. As a friend, I just wanted to be there for her and tried to understand why it was so secretive. If you are interested in the bond of women that sometimes still keeps us at a distance, please let me know. You can find me at The Jenny Evolution (www.thejennyevolution.com) Thanks.

  2. I’d like to contribute a guest post. Is there a particular angle you’re looking for? Feel free to stop by my blog or drop me a line via email in the meantime.

    • Katia says:

      Absolutely! I’m an idiot, I just posted the longest message as a comment on your Frida Kahlo post (loved it, by the way), when I could have emailed you. My apologies. Hope the message answers your questions. Look forward to talking soon!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
