Goodbye Twitter. It’s Been Real – Finish The Sentence Friday

35

May 9, 2013 by Katia

This summer 9 Month Old is turning one and I plan to go back to full time employment.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again. This is really going to get in the way of my full time twittering. And I’m in panic mode. I think I may have even meta-twitted about that. The whole One Year Old in new daycare situation? Meh. My RELATIONSHIP with Twitter is at stake here!!!

To make my crush that much worse, Twitter doesn’t even seem to notice me. Every once in a while I’ll remind myself “when in doubt – wear red” (Bill Blass) and throw something like this out there, thinking OK, Twitter, I’m coming to get ya and if you don’t notice THIS, you must not be into girls:

But I get so excited because it’s TWITTER (OMGLOL) that I forget to spell the word all correctly and end up getting 5 retweets, which is my hugest success on Twitter so far, which makes me a little sad.

Since some of my best recent work is on this medium and goes unnoticed, I often feel as though I’m Twitter’s Van Gogh but instead of cutting my ear off I just eat another slice of key lime pie and drink Coke which is basically the 2013 version thereof.

To be completely honest, what I’m trying to do here is to show you my portfolio, because you look like a connoisseur.

So there’s this one, one of my favourite contemporary works:

If you’re not into Zombies, I also tweet about more noble subjects:

If you’re a Twitter stalker, you’ll appreciate this piece:

I talk about my kids quite a bit.

And some of my work in this medium:

Transcends into the other. It’s really epic. And surreal.

Military

If that didn’t convince you, you will love my husband:

I leave you with my Starry Night my Mona Lisa and my Michaelangelo’s David.

Put in a good word for me?

This has been a Finish the Sentence Friday post on the topic “this summer I plan to…”.

Please visit our hosts:

Janine at Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic

Stephanie at Mommy, for Real

Kate at Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine

Dawn at Dawn’s Disaster

35 thoughts on “Goodbye Twitter. It’s Been Real – Finish The Sentence Friday

  1. As much as I have a love-hate relationship with Twitter, I too would totally miss it if I couldn’t use it as often as I do (so feel for you on this). And I loved the tweet to parents of kids that complain about them walking at 7 am, because back in the day when my oldest had colic 7 am would have been a walk in the park!!

    • Katia says:

      :-)) Janine, it’s so comforting (for some unclear, sadistic? reason) that you understand what I’m talking about with the pre 5am wake ups. Thanks so much for commenting!

  2. Jen Kehl says:

    I would have re-tweeted all of those! You know the problem with twitter is if your not staring at it 24/7 you miss all the good stuff. Plus my 7yo keeps saying, are you writing about me again? I’ll keep my eye on you and RT as much as I can. I would like to keep your obsession alive!

    • Katia says:

      You are a woman after my own heart, understanding how important it is to keep obsessions alive!😀 Thank you, Jen! And yes, you’re totally right, you’re bound to miss good stuff on Twitter. That’s the nature of the beast.

  3. I love this! Except I hate you a little bit for finishing the FTSF post that I haven’t even started yet. Still, yo are brilliant on Twitter and I’m glad I favorited at least one of those.

    • Katia says:

      I favourite you. Listen, I don’t have a full time job, so no worries about not getting around to finishing your post yet. I look forward to reading it, though!

      • Um, I don’t have a full-time job either. It’s part time and still kills me. I’ll bet once you start working, you can tweet from the bathroom at work, so there’s always that.

  4. Yikes! I would just wait longer- enjoy the summer!

  5. I *love* your Tweets! I wish I had seen even a single one of them originally, and I would have RT’d them, too! Wait, I still can… Hold on a sec… OK, I’m back. This was such a creative idea; I love it! I definitely feel your ambivalence about work interfering with this whole blog thing. I am in your boat, friend!

    • Katia says:

      Oh, I know, my friend. I’ve been looking at you and Kristi and all of our other bloggers/moms/employees and asking myself HOW??? Guess I’m about to find out😦 Thanks so much for the retweets, my friend!

  6. Karen says:

    Oh, you’re a far more gifted Twitterer than I…maybe your next career move should be “Creative Tweeting for the Terminally Dweeby”?🙂

  7. You are so brilliant on twitter and I crave to be more like you – I have a little time this summer, can you teach me before you go back to work so that I can channel you! Do you have a Tweet-sheet-cheat-guide!
    Good luck back at work and please don’t give up Twitter for good, you make it worth using!

  8. Brian says:

    I read my wife the first Tweet, about the credit card. As expected, she LOVED it. We have a six year old who often asks her, “How come you think you should be the boss of everyone?”

    If you are half as good at your new job as you are with Twitter, you’ll do great!

    • Katia says:

      😀 I love that your wife loved it. She has my creative license to use it on your six-year-old next time!

      It’s actually the same job I am going back to, but having two kids while doing same job would be the new part, which I hope I won’t suck at.

  9. Dana says:

    I love that you showed us your tweets (that sounds a little dirty) – I sometimes feel like I am tweeting into an empty universe. I’m sure your tweets will be just as brilliant when you go back to work – you’ll have even more to tweet about then!

    • Katia says:

      Oh, you’re right, that’s something I haven’t thought of, new material!

      Oh and I love “showed us your tweets”. I may have to tweet that🙂

      And, yes, I agree, most of the time it feels like tweeting into a void🙂

  10. Yvonne says:

    Funnily enough I just wrote a post that’s (sort of) about Twitter, but more about how I’ve never got the hang of it, and now I’ve found a new way to use it. But reading your tweets, I may just run away and hide: I have not mastered being witty in 140 characters whereas clearly you have! (The first one was my favourite!)

    • Katia says:

      Thank you so much, Yvonne, I didn’t get into Twitter right away. I was mainly feeling the same way you do (I don’t get it and can’t be as witty as others and who cares about what I write anyway) but I think the confidence came with gaining more readers, which happened when I myself started following other bloggers. Now it’s one of my favourite things. Duh…🙂

  11. I’ll reinforce Another Clean Slate’s suggestion…wait til September! Why ruin a perfectly good season by letting someone or something tell you when you can go outside?
    ‘The Twitter’ I do simply because I see everyone else doing, but I simply do not grasp the concept (I suppose I am not helping myself by thinking that twitter should essentially be a haiku email)

    • Katia says:

      Yes, I know exactly what you mean. I didn’t get Twitter and disliked it for the longest time and then I just got into it. Kind of like Sushi.

      Yes, I think I’ll probably drag this into September, thank you so much for the advice!

  12. Jean Heff says:

    I love your blog and what you tweet. I feel like I miss most of what people tweet during the day. I also feel like it would be a little bit uncomfortable going through someone’s past tweets to comment on them. Although, yours seem like they would be worth it. We’re switching places now that you’re going back to work and I’m “retiring” we’ll still be tweeting at different times!

    • Katia says:

      I hope we’ll still get to see each other on Twitter and for sure we’ll be following one another’s blogs. How exciting for you! When is the big move happening?

      Thanks so much for being so kind. I know you’re just being you🙂

  13. basicallyb says:

    I’m the opposite. I used to be obsessed with Twitter, but I weaned myself off it when I was working cuz it was so distracting! Now, I forget I have it!

  14. Oh, no! I love you on Twitter! I’m slowly starting to get the hang of Twitter. It takes a specific sort of talent — that you obviously have! — to master being funny or dry in so few characters.

  15. What is it about Twitter that can make you feel so ridiculously “talking to myself” and yet you get a couple of retweets and you’re high as a kite? Gah.
    p.s. now following you on Twitter.😉

  16. The Waiting says:

    You are one of my favorite people on Twitter! And I only just started following you recently! Don’t leave me just yet. I will start RTing everything you say, I swear. ;D

    • Katia says:

      Please don’t think that I’m just paying back the compliment, but you’re one of my favourite people on Twitter too. I’m not going anywhere just yet, but when I do go back I’ll have to figure out a clandestine way to do it. I’ll have to look into Morse code and tweeting.🙂

  17. I’m just now seeing this and love it! I’m a Twitter-aholic like you are! I’m putting you on one of my Twitter lists so I can better stalk you. I had no idea that you tweeted such gems!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
