Why I Won’t Be Getting a Pet Anytime Soon

27

June 24, 2013 by Katia

I hope this doesn’t turn into a tiger mom type thing. That is all.

***********

I’ve made an observation. It’s not a very sophisticated one. It’s kind of obvious, actually, but I worry that it’ll get me in trouble of the tiger mom variety.

 dt

Louisa rainbow

I no longer need a pet, or at least won’t be needing one for the next 6 months or so. So no thanks, unless you’re getting me a pony. Or a unicorn. When I was grieving the loss of my beloved American Cocker Spaniel, Louisa, one year ago, I tweeted “so what do people without dogs do to get rid of food that falls off their plates?” (I cope with humour). A year later that question is no longer relevant, because every imaginable feature of life with pet is covered. This guy’s got it.

sockinmouth

Here are some of the features of life with 10 Month Old:

  • His domain is the floor and he uses his mouth to transport stuff around the house and outside of it. Bookglobe
  • If it’s on the floor, it’s fair game. If it’s not, then what are we waiting for?

Fun scientific fact: oral fixation is a thing with dogs.  When it comes to babies, they reassure me it’s a stage that my baby’s going through, but

This.

  • No one is as happy or excited when I return home.  No. One. E. Vah.
  • We’ve taught him some tricks: high five, clap, bye bye.
  • He’s cuddly and furry and totally steals the spotlight.cuddly
  • For entertainment  I take him out for walks.
  • He is heard by the neighbours. Yeah, sorry about that, guys.
  • He makes a great ice breaker, a total grandma magnet and the dialogue sounds so familiar: Oh,  how cute! How old? A girl or a girl?

Some things he does make him even funner than a pet:

  • He makes this really conspiratory, excited facial expression and then he starts clapping.
  • He calls me MomMomMomMom.
  • He dances when I turn on the music.
  • He stands on his tippie toes.tippietoes

So, am I in trouble?

*********

Have you ever felt that way?

27 thoughts on “Why I Won’t Be Getting a Pet Anytime Soon

  1. I don’t think you’re in trouble. This is funny ~ and the baby doesn’t shed or poop on the lawn, does he? {Love the pic of Louisa ~ what a cutie! Our family dog when I was growing up was a cocker spaniel, such great dogs!}

    • Katia says:

      I love cocker spaniels,they’re wonderful and she was the silliest dog ever. No, baby doesn’t poop on the lawn but I feel like the potential is there🙂

  2. I get this. Completely. I have a Boston Terrier who’s almost 12. She’s been me through everything during the past decade. Until my son was born, she was my baby. I took her everywhere, worried about her constantly (if she were hungry, getting enough exercise). Now she’s basically neglected, and I feel terrible about it. For me — and I know this is a totally personal thing — I only have the mental energy for worrying for one small, high maintenance being at a time. I used to think anyone — even people with small children — had something wrong with them if they didn’t have a pet. Now I know better.

    • Katia says:

      I am totally with you, Jessica. I’m ashamed that as an owner of pets my entire life, mostly cats, I judged people who seemed to be less patient with their pets after the birth of a baby, but then I had Ben and realized that as you say, I only have that much energy. Louisa was as loved and cared about as before but definitely moved down in the hierarchy. I was so devastated when in May I found out that she was terminally ill and realized again just how much she had meant to me at the same time I am in no rush to get another pet. For one thing I can’t imagine going through the heartbreak of witnessing their illness.

  3. Roshni says:

    I often compared my spaniel with my infant son and wondered how it was that the dog was often so much smarter!😀

    • Katia says:

      😀😀😀 Mine was the silliest dog I’ve ever met, which made her even more adorable and lovable, but I love your comment. You’re hilarious!

  4. Considerer says:

    Very cute. Just don’t print out this post for his 18th birthday – THEN you’ll be in Trouble😉

  5. OK, I thought this post might be about some sort of goldfish-mishap, and you totally surprised me! In the best way ever- I had no idea I was going to giggle so much while reading this! I love those unexpectedly funny posts! These photos are perfect. And now it’s MY turn to do that, “Why didn’t I think of this?” thing. Great idea- well executed. Hilarious. Adorable. I missed you last week!😀

    • Katia says:

      I am so glad this made you laugh. I’ve been thinking that for a very long time (small thing, hangs around on the floor and grabs everything with its mouth) but was afraid of public backlash. Maybe it’s grandeur delusions.

  6. Sarah Almond says:

    I have felt that way as well. My son is special needs-and one of his issues is oral fixation. Everything, and I mean everything goes in the kid’s mouth. We’ve even caught him chewing on or putting anything you can think of in there. One day my husband had to ask him to quit chewing on the leg of the table. He has put teethmarks and chewed through so many things. We’ve often said it’s just like having a dog! Getting him gum has helped somewhat, thank goodness. I know that some people just have to chew on stuff-my husband chews his nails, I chew my lip, I guess it’s natural that he just chew on everything else. Sigh…

    • Katia says:

      I’m glad you thought of gum! That must at least keep his mouth occupied some of the time. When I was talking about this to one of the moms in my older son’s daycare she was telling me her toddler kept it up until he was about 18 months, putting wood chips from the playground in his mouth, for example, and leaving them there! One day he was at the playground with his grandma and his mom had no idea he had brought a wood chip back in his mouth! She then went on to breastfeed him and noticed that his mouth wouldn’t shut, can you imagine? This did not encourage me, because I’m in a state of constant panic, trying to be vigilant enough to notice these things on time and pull them out of his mouth before it’s too late… GAH and sigh indeed.

  7. Kate says:

    Adorable! And pets can be just as expensive I hear!!

  8. I lost my dog a few years ago too, Katia. No chance he will be replaced now! I have enough on my plate. This post is hilarious. I hadn’t ever thought about how much toddlers are like pets, but, woman, you are spot on! Love the pictures too!

    • Katia says:

      Thanks so much, Rachel! It’s funny, but it’s ALL I can think of as I try to pull stuff out of his mouth😀 Maybe it wasn’t that apparent with Ben (my older one) because he didn’t put EVERYTHING in his mouth, or maybe it’s because we still had Louisa back then so it didn’t feel so much like a replacement😀

  9. I never knew how gross my dog was until I had a baby. Hair. Hair. Everywhere there is hair. And you can’t forget the toddler feet always finding the poop in the yard.
    I’m on the fence about another dog. ours is 9 and…sigh…I just don’t know. He’s irreplaceable (that’s my excuse and sticking to it.)
    I love that your babe eats things. I bet his poop is entertaining🙂
    This is the funny I needed today🙂
    No tiger here.

    • Katia says:

      I know, a baby is really instrumental in helping you discover how messy your dog is, hell, how messy your house is! I pulled something out of his mouth today as I was on the phone with my mom and I almost cried. She asked “what was it” and I said “I don’t want to know”. Then she asked again and I said “no, really, I don’t want to know”. Sigh.

    • YES. OMG. THE HAIR. Henry used to poop it out. Hmmm….

  10. Ah. I lost my dog just a few months ago..the one I’d had since way before my marriage or my son. I don’t blame you at all. While this memory brings me to a sad place, your post had me laughing at several points!!! Oral fixation! YES. Nobody being happier when I come home??? YES. Love. Love love it.

    • Katia says:

      It’s SO difficult losing a pet. I’m sorry, Kristi. I’m pretty sure I cried at work for a month when I found out how sick she was. It helped that I was pregnant at the time.🙂 I’m glad it made you laugh.

  11. Omg, I LOVE this. I have a dog and there was definitely a phase Henry went through that seemed like I had two dogs… or two 10-month-old babies. Hilarious observations. The bite out of the piece of paper is the best.

  12. Jen says:

    I remember before my son was born when we had 3 cats, we used to say “who needs kids? our cats are our kids.” Well cats are, what? 50% less destructive than kids. Now we have 2 dogs. Dogs are definitely like kids. Definitely. Only more trainable. So, I guess that means I totally agree with you!

  13. Ha! We call our 2 yr old our Puppy!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
