Musical Confessions – Twisted Mixtape

18

July 2, 2013 by Katia

Here’s something you need to know about me. I’ve said it (approximately three times here on this blog) before, I’ll say it again. My food preferences consist entirely of what other people refer to as comfort food, whereas my taste in music consists of guilty pleasures. Which is why the 80’s is when I get to thrive, because let’s face the music, was music ever THAT bad before or after?

I don’t think so.

If we ever go out for karaoke together. I am going to perform this. Duh. Right after I do Bohemian Rhapsody.

The 80’s and I are a match made in heaven. Something else you need to know about me. My hair and I are not a match made in heaven. One of my best New Year wishes EVAH, circa 2010 on Facebook was “Wishing all the ladies a great hair year”. I still have to top that one. It came from real pain. I always say my hair is “naturally 80’s”. I bet this singer hears me, although in her case this looks like a deliberate choice.

This evokes memories of a Halloween themed party in somebody’s apartment in Tel-Aviv when I was in grade school. We were obviously counting down to something when this was looping in one of the rooms. I dare you not to feel cool, listening to this.

I only peruse “Take on Me” for the animation.

This is about as sophisticated as I get.

This is about as badass as I get.

Correction, this is probably as sophisticated as I get.

I did brush against sophisticated once. Surprisingly it wasn’t in the 80’s. In 1990 I watched Pink Floyd and other artists perform The Wall in Berlin and I taped it. And watched it again. And again. And again. And again. The scale of this production, the talent, the music and the added layer of meaning blew my mind and left me hypnotized and glued to the TV screen, memorizing the lyrics and the dialogues. I know that 1990 doesn’t exactly qualify as 80’s, but can we pretend it sort of still is? Watch early Seinfeld, I promise you, you won’t be able to tell the difference. 

This has been my first attempt at Twisted Mixtape Tuesday brought to you by the AMAZING Jen at My Skewed View.

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Musical Confessions – Twisted Mixtape

  1. Dream says:

    I feel your pain with the naturally 80’s hair. I have that “spiral-perm” look too when its allowed to do its on thing: blonde, thick and tight ringlet curls. But, great song picks (especially Careless Whisper).

  2. Sarah Almond says:

    And you did a fabulous job indeed… great tunes!

  3. Nina Badzin says:

    I love this idea for a post. My mixtape would be REALLY embarrassing with mostly stuff from Glee. I am never current! I love showtunes, etc.

    • Katia says:

      A kindred spirit! Yay! Don’t be embarrassed, you’re not alone🙂

    • Katia says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Nina! I love that you’ve CAPPED REALLY embarrassing in reference to your mixtape, as if mine wasn’t. That is too kind. I love Glee! I stopped watching after season 2, I think, I still mourn that. I really should catch up on 2010-2013 :-O

  4. Nothing Compares to U!! (damn! I had that slated for next week’s Post lol!*)

    Very nice mix of styles tho! Funny how much of the music in the 80s did not make my ‘gotta listen this list’ at the time, but are very enjoyable now.
    Of your picks, ‘Careless Whisper’ is an example of a song from the 80s that I didn’t listen to (at least not enough to have remembered liking it that much), but has become a favorite, even though the version I like is the ‘cover’ done by Seether (in the 90’s)
    Anything by Prince, of course**
    Alice Cooper! talk about staying power in a field that is so constantly changing…

    Very excellent cross sectional list.

    *not that this is a competition***
    ** not sure which one, but I’m sure I’ll have something next week
    *** lol

    • Katia says:

      Thank you so much, Clark! Sorry I stole Nothing Compares. Please use it next week!

      I really look forward to your list! I’ll be away next week, but would love to catch up on that post the week after!

  5. 1120slu says:

    Wow… Love your Alice Cooper choice, Big fan of Heart, and the Pink Floyd video is amazing!!! Nice bonus for me on Final Countdown. Really enjoyed, Slu Nice…

  6. troy P. says:

    Awesome list – and Thank YOU! My youngest (13) was PISSED when I refused to use Europe, and it’s only with your shout-out that he’ll once again speak to me on the subject =)

  7. NICE list! You had me at Heart…you had me at Heart…😉

  8. Jean says:

    This was a pretty awesome first mix tape post! Katia, I’m thinking you would love visiting my mom’s house where People and US magazines fill the coffee table and the top 40 radio station in on all the time.🙂

    • Katia says:

      Yes, please. If you can get her to serve key lime pie and Coke, I may have to move in. I don’t see that as much of a problem, since she’s having you over obviously she’s open to that kind of arrangement.

  9. Jen says:

    Ok seriously? I did not peg you for a metalhead! Alice Cooper?! Whoa! Now I really can’t wait to meet you! I love your list and your humor! Sinead really was quite controversial in the 80’s wasn’t she? I bet no children of the 90’s even know who she is now. So sad. Thank you so much for playing! PART 2 is waiting for you!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
