I am Not Ready to Embrace The Mosquitoes but I’m OK With Nature Now

31

July 16, 2013 by Katia

In all of nature there is something marvelous – Aristotle

On our first ever cottage vacation of one week, I’ve made a few observations of my own about nature’s darker side. I bring them to you.

  • Nature stings and bites.
  • Nature sticks to your feet, shoes, carpets, bed, your kids’ hair and foreheads, you name it.
  • Nature makes you sweaty.
  • Nature is hard to climb on. July 2013 288
  • Big nature can sometimes eat you.
  • Nature is unpredictable and, yes, marvelous and it makes YOU marvel at it and momentarily forget all about being hot and tired from hiking, disgusted and annoyed with the mosquitoes and the other bugs and hoping not to meet a bear, because July 2013 348
  • A fish just leaped from the water flipped in the air and jumped back while you happened to look.
  • A deer was nonchalantly standing at the side of the road by the garbage bins near the grocery store,  checking you out for what seemed like a really long time before it ran and disappeared into the forest.

    Good nature

    Good nature

  • A group of wild turkeys was all importantly marching on the side of the road leading to the cottage.
  • Two ducks visited your cottage every day and you want to believe that they chose you before you even started feeding them and that they did it for some mysterious reason known only to the entity that invented nature and to the ducks themselves.July 2013 250
  • A chipmunk ran past you like the white rabbit in Alice in Wonderland and you thought it will make like a chipmunk and split, but instead it lingered and played for a while in Four Year Old’s territory, the sandbox.
  • Your husband, 37 Year Old, found a hidden little waterfall behind some trees in the forest surrounding the lake and hearing him describe the sound of wind in the branches then the distant sound growing closer of water burbling made you want to experience it for yourself.
  • And when the kids were sleeping you paddle boated for only ten minutes at first then gradually increasing your nature intake and your smile to fifteen and forty five minutes and finally discovering that waterfall.
  • And then your boat broke in the middle of nature.
  • Nature is deep when you can’t swim all that well.
  • Nature is very bright and almost blinding at 7:30pm on a Muskoka lake.
  • Nature is silent and gives you no advice, so you have to figure out on your own how the fuck DO you reinstall these fucking pedals??? So you take a few deep breaths and talk to your common sense and you push the pedal back in on one side and the screw on the other, pedal three times and push it back in again and you gradually realize you’ve got this.
  • Conquering nature is empowering and you sail on your little paddle boat, with your red life vest and newly acquired survival skills feeling très
    Survivor and prehistoric at the same time and you hope that 37 Year Old sees you conquering nature and loose pedal screws but he doesn’t, which is just fine by you because there’s all the more for you to tell.
  • And just like that, just as you and nature were starting to bond it’s time to leave. And now you’re writing this post and you find yourself longing to visit that waterfall again. With a functioning paddle boat.

This happened too:

First time swinger on the right and hammocker on the left

First time swinger on the right and hammocker on the left

July 2013 046

July 2013 192

July 2013 220

July 2013 358

July 2013 363

July 2013 369

July 2013 375

July 2013 409

July 2013 488

31 thoughts on “I am Not Ready to Embrace The Mosquitoes but I’m OK With Nature Now

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh, I love this! What a fabulous week for your family! And what a hilarious visual you gave us of you struggling with that paddle boat in the middle of the water! I’m happy for you that your family enjoyed some away time together. We missed you here in the blogosphere and are glad to have you back! Umm…that line about nature eating you cracked me up! You are funny!

    • Katia says:

      😀 true story. I was a little terrified when both the pedals fell off and there I was, completely dressed including sneakers, trying to figure out if I could make a swim for it. Or do I just hand around and wait to be noticed.

      I missed being here too. Thanks so much, Elizabeth!

  2. Tracie says:

    Great pictures!!

    Nature and I have not always been friends. But it sounds like you had a wonderful time…once you got the boat fixed!

  3. Just beautiful, Katia! It sounds like we have a very similar relationship to nature. My inlaws have a country cabin, and we stay there sometimes. When I first get there, I’m usually disgruntled: no TV, no phone, no internet, no air conditioning. It’s always musty, bugs all over the place, muddy. But just when I start to relax, acclimate to country life, it’s always time to go back to the city!

  4. Sarah Almond says:

    I love it all! We have been spending a lot of time outdoors this summer, seeing all that nature has to offer. Your post made me smile-especially the pictures! I’ve got a nature post or two coming up myself, but nearly as neat as yours! Thanks for sharing with us!

    • Katia says:

      I look forward to reading yours, Sarah! It would be interesting to read on the same topic from a different take🙂 And I’m glad the pictures made you smile!

  5. 😀 Still laughing at ‘nature is deep when you can’t swim very well’. Well done for fixing it though. It sounds like you had an awesome vacation and I hope you’re now thoroughly rested and ready to take on the summer. Glad to have you back🙂

  6. Jean says:

    Congratulations on braving the wild. Your children are adorable and they will remember their mama being brave out in nature someday. 🙂

  7. Sarah says:

    Looks like you had a great trip ~ lovely pictures. I’ve always said nature would be a lot better without the bugs! I love how you share the ups and downs and beauty and dirtiness of nature. Welcome back!

  8. I feel like I was there. I am sooooo happy you and nature connected a little.🙂

    You guys are sooo beautiful out there in the wild.

    • Katia says:

      I was thinking of you writing the post. I felt guilty because I feel like you’re my nature facilitator. I love the combination of you guys, us and nature.

  9. I love nature, too. Mosquitos? Not so much.
    Anyway, I LOVED the pics. Such a cute family, and such beautiful adventures.🙂

  10. […] In all of nature there is something marvelous – Aristotle On our one week first cottage vacation I’ve made a few observations of my own about nature’s darker side. I bring them to you. Nature sting…  […]

  11. Katia! You so perfectly described what I feel every time I go outside, much less when we experience nature. I crave going outside, go out, get annoyed by the mosquitos, the heat, the sweaty humidity and once we’re back indoors (or back home), I miss it so much. I love that you fixed the paddleboat alone and I love your photos. My favorite is your gorgeous self feeding a bottle to little dude on a train/tram/something.
    So LOVE this post. Huge.

    • Katia says:

      Yes, that’s exactly right, I actually feel that way every time I go out. It doesn’t take nature to make me feel hot, bothered by the bugs etc. So glad I am not alone.🙂

  12. What gorgeous pictures. Having grown up mainly indoors (my parents were city-folk), I learned to love the outdoors in college (in NH). But I still hate the mosquitoes. My husband – an outdoorsman through and through – laughs at me, but I can never get used to the bugs.

  13. Nina Badzin says:

    Great seeing the pics and reading about the trip. And good for you for getting them outside and yourself too. I hate bugs, heat, and water . . . so I’m not one of these typical Minnesotas that loves going to cabin on the lake. I also hate cold. So . . . I’m happiest in October.😉

    • Katia says:

      Thank goodness for so many great people that share my less than overwhelming enthusiasm for the great outdoors. I feel vindicated🙂 And, yes, October is my kind of month too!

  14. Stephanie Sprenger says:

    First off, gorgeous photos! Totally stunning. I am like you (well, duh!) and though I love to appreciate the beauty of nature, I am sometimes put off by its, well, chaos, dirt, messiness, and danger potential. I’m glad you found some peace, and I’m glad you overcame the paddle boat disaster! Go you! (And thanks for adding in some f- words in addition to your story of triumph!) That was an excellent post- I love how you painted such a full picture of your experience.

  15. Oh, I so enjoyed this little slice of your vacation! I felt like I had a window into your time with nature, especially coupled with such intimate, lovely photos. And, you are so right, nature is such a mixed bag. It’s so hard to peacefully coexist sometimes. I’m glad you were able to find peace.

    • Katia says:

      Yes, a mixed bag is exactly right, Rachel! I don’t know why we tend to black/white everything including nature. And I’m so glad you liked the photos!

  16. Nicole Macdonald says:

    Hi there,
    Came across your blog through a friend and this post I noticed this is the exact same cottage we rented in Dorset this summer. Wondering if you were satisfied with it and if you are planning to book there again next summer.
    My husband and I want to plan another cottage trip for next summer with our (to be) 3 year old son, and (to be) 6 month old baby. We loved the lake – cottage was a bit rustic but ok.
    Unfortunately our son was sick with a bad cough/fever for much of the trip so we didn’t go in the water much.
    Just wondering if you think you will book there again?

    Nicole

  17. […] I am not Ready to Embrace the Mosquitoes but I’m ok with Nature Now […]

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
