The one that got away. My Year in Music – Twisted Mix Tape

27

August 6, 2013 by Katia

Hello everyone, I am The Milk. 

I’m so excited to be joining my super cool friends’ Jen and Kristi’s super cool blog hop. I will spend the rest of this post, pretending that I belong here.

Let me start by telling you a little bit about myself. My favourite musical genre is Crap. I am crap curious and couldn’t care less about the year a song’s been written as long as it’s Crap, but my friend Jen tells me that we’re here to talk about the late 2000’s. Including 2013.

Ahhhh. 2013. In my books you will always be that mythological ex year. You know, the one that got away. Musically speaking, that is.

You see, this was me last August.

ke_family07

Katia in August 2012.

And this was me ever since.

861356_10151478279402069_1826802828_o

The Milk in the last quarter of 2012 and all of 2013.

A before and after if you will, just not in the traditional order.

So when it comes to music, local and international news and basically anything that didn’t happen in my house or can be seen through my living room window, count me out. I’m out of the loop. Not playing. Except for today, because say what you will about me, no one’s going to take away my inconsistency.

While I can’t think of a single song from 2013 except this one:

The late 2000’s are my personal most happening era and a lot of my memories come with a soundtrack which makes crap much more significant than one would think.

Of all the songs in all the albums in the world it had to be Rihanna’s Umbrella that evokes memories of my first months in Canada. A sense of hidden promise with sharp longing for the known.

 Nostalgia for Israel.

Destressing on my way back from my first Canadian job.

Thinking contractions are such a breeze, on our way to the hospital with Braxton Hicks.

Experiencing some mat leave excitement*.

And then some more mat leave and writing and momming. Oh wait, here’s another fresh one from 2013 for you!

Sometimes crap is just crap. Sometimes it’s so much more

This post was written for the Twisted Mix Tape Tuesday Link up. Make sure to check out my super talented friend Jen’s blog, My Skewed View and my uber talented friend Kristi’s blog Finding Ninee.

* You know how your memory cheats sometimes? I was not on mat leave in 2011 when Stereo Hearts was released, yet this is how I remember it.

27 thoughts on “The one that got away. My Year in Music – Twisted Mix Tape

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh, Katia! I’ve avoided this blog hop because it terrifies me more than writing something funny for Terrye every Tuesday. I know nothing cool about music. I never know who wrote what, what the singer’s name is or even what genre the song is! I love music dearly and am listening to the new Tim McGraw album as I write this, but I definitely understand the feeling of not feeling cool enough to join this hop. But since you’ve taken the plunge, I might just gather up the courage to join in, too!! Great post!!

    • Lizzi Rogers says:

      (you’re meant to be ‘cool’ to be in this hop? Oh shit. I missed the memo and joined in anyway! Elizabeth – you should TOTALLY do it)

      • Katia says:

        HAHA!😀 I don’t think you’re meant to be cool, I just feel the need to be cool around Kristi and Jen. You’re hilarious. And cool.

    • Katia says:

      Woohoo! Jump, jump, jump, Elizabeth! I’d love your company next week!

      Also, I’m surprised you worry about your funny. I’ve seen your new FB page and it’s hilarious!

  2. Lizzi Rogers says:

    Oh bless your before and after pics!😄

    Cool list right here (though the Rhianna you may keep, far, far away from me😉 )

    Loved seeing you in this hop😀 It’s so fun.

  3. Dana says:

    Loved it, Katia! You’ll get no judging from me – I made a tape last week from kids’ theme songs! I hope you didn’t hurt your head as it banged into your keyboard🙂

    • Katia says:

      😀 Thank you, Dana! I’ve been a horrible reader and commenter between my travels and having a house guest. I hope to be able to read your post (and maybe last week’s too if I’m really lucky) tonight.🙂

  4. LOL, Katia. You are too much! I like the juxtaposition of Taylor Swift with Israeli music. Fabulous. I do admit, however, that I had Lady Gaga on my mix, too! (Bad Romance). What can I say, she’s one of a kind.

  5. JenKehl says:

    Originally I had Glee’s version of Poker Face on my list, but my disdain for Lady Gaga made me take it off. But I don’t fault you, it is an awesome song.
    And if you read about my music edification being from Just Dance 4 on my post, then you know how I know Umbrella🙂
    Love this list, is that Israeli song current pop music? It was way cool. I am soooo happy you played this week! Thank you!

    • Katia says:

      Yes, the Israeli song is current as in about 6-7 years ago. It was popular right before I left Israel. The singer/band are awesome. I really love them. Look him up, he tours all over the States, I once issued his visa when I was working at the US Embassy🙂

  6. Katia! You are so freaking awesome. Sometimes, indeed, crap really is so much more. I love Umbrella from Rihanna, love love it. Poker Face is THE PERFECT song for Braxton Hicks. And your pregnancy photo? Totally glowingly gorgeous. You’re a hotty.

    • Katia says:

      😀 Thanks, Kristi! HAHA, I agree Poker Face is perfect for everything including Braxton Hicks. I’m sure Gaga knew that when she wrote it.

  7. I really enjoyed the Gym Class Heroes… it was one of those songs that I liked immediately, which is funny ’cause it was on one of my ‘car presets’ as opposed to where I might otherwise go for music. (With the opening of the millennium I decided to make a deliberate effort to acquire a taste for all music, not just the music I have always enjoyed. Two areas were a special challenge, country and pop music.)
    You have told a great story…as I have come to expect…

    Hope you decide to stay with the TMT… Jen and Kristi are amazing and seem to have an endless capacity to challenge us with themes of music each week.

    • Katia says:

      Clark, I’ve missed blog-talking to you! Yes, Gym Class Heroes is my favourite one out of this list, I think. I love that you’ve challenged yourself, musically. It’s funny I used to be all about pop music, but now I just find it too noisy, too busy. I must be too tired.🙂

  8. Dream says:

    I almost included a cover version of Umbrella by Lillasyster on my list this week, but I went with a different Rihanna song. Great list!

  9. mrspancakes says:

    Ooh you are too cute and your playlist was awesome!

  10. […] Hello everyone, I am The Milk. I’m so excited to be joining my super cool friends’ Jen and Kristi’s super cool blog hop. I will spend the rest of this post, pretending that I belong here. Let me start by telling you a little bit about myself.  […]

  11. troy P. says:

    You had me at “crap.” And then I kept scrolling… I like a person who knows themselves =)

  12. Dangit. Now I have to add you my bloglovin’ feed too and I’m already 76 posts behind. Stop piquing my interest with your writing. Ugh!!!😉

  13. Sarah Almond says:

    Oh Katia! You make me smile! One should never consider her own musical taste “crap”.
    And you are one of the coolest in my book! 🙂

    I’ve been there with my keyboard before, I just never thought to photograph it!

    I’m so glad you linked up this week. I love hearing what other people listen to!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
