Some Days All You Need is a YOU SUCK Prompt

26

August 27, 2013 by Katia

I have these two amazing blogfriends, Jen at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee. Every Tuesday these two amazing ladies host a Twisted Mixed Tape linkup. Every week they come up with amazing topics like “duets” “80’s” “breakup songs”. Every week I light up when I read next week’s prompt, I get all pumped and tell myself “hell yeah, duets, I am SO in!”. Almost every week I’m out. I suck.

Welcome to this week’s Twisted Mixed Tape Tuesday on the topic: YOU SUCK! (see what I did there?) Sometimes the best thing that can happen to one is a prompt titled YOU SUCK. When I saw the prompt for this week, I went “YOU SUCK? Hell yeah, I’m SO in!” I think it’s supposed to be about breakups, but I don’t have much to share, so I intend to channel my general undefined inner angst into some really bad or mildly bad pop songs. As always, you’re welcome.

Top 10 YOU SUCK/Breakup/Stuff I Never Say IRL Songs

1. Don’t Speak.

2. He left no time to regret, kept his d*$%* wet… (AHEM)

3. Guilty feet have got no rhythm. (Whoa deep, but stuff that needs to be NOT said ever IRL).

4. My inner rapper gets really pumped listening to this. He might be into fire.

5. Take me Bruno Mars. I’m yours. (stuff that hasn’t been said IRL)

6. If you walk away every day it’ll rain. (stuff that needs to be said to me IRL ASAP)

7. Someday I’ll be living in a big ol’ city and all you’re ever gonna be is mean. (REALLY want to say this to someone.)

8. I’m still in love with everything I hate. (REALLY want this to be in a movie about my life. Also, I should be singing it. Also also I should be smashing stuff, maybe a guitar)

9. November Rain. (OK, this can be in a movie about my life too. I’ll join the chorus when it goes: don’t you think that you need somebody, don’t you think that you need someone).

10. I leave you with a beacon of hope on skates.

26 thoughts on “Some Days All You Need is a YOU SUCK Prompt

  1. Quickstepp says:

    Yay, someone included No Doubt. My high school break up drama self adores this. And I totally wanted a polka-dot, blue button up dress after this came out (and to be Gwen Stefani).

  2. Dana says:

    I sucked today because I didn’t participate. Your mixtape is great, Katia! But my favorite thing about your post is the line “a beacon of hope on skates.” Awesome!

  3. Le Clown says:

    Katia,
    Here’s one to accompany November Rain (which I love).

    Le Clown

  4. I love “Don’t Speak”. I also love Gwen’s husband. That is all.🙂

  5. That first paragraph is me, too – every week I’m like, “Amazing! I’m so doing it next week!” Every week, I run out of time. Oh well, we’re here.
    Also, that Bruno Mars song gets me EVERY. TIME. Sniff. Bruno, you can buy ME flowers.

  6. WHOOT! Love that you got No Doubt into this.

    I so nearly included Gloria! And I had Eminem the other week for duets but would TOTALLY have used it again🙂

    Awesomerockin’ list Katia🙂

  7. Aw, I’m so happy you linked up this week! And you do NOT suck. Not even a little bit. Love your list and appreciate you leaving me with a beacon of hope on skates after November Rain which gets me every time!

  8. The Waiting says:

    Here’s how creative I am: the only “you suck” song I can think of is “You Oughta Know” by Alanis. It is a good one, though!

  9. great list… nice range (from you SUCK to well, I think that maybe you (also) suck)

    lol
    fun Post

  10. Jen says:

    OK, first of all, we definitely have the same sense of humor. Also, I know someone else who likes fire, so that video WILL never see the light of day here🙂
    This mix is EXCELLENT. I hope you do (never) get the chance to say those things. But the way you channeled your inner scorned, BRAVO!

  11. I love “I Was Your Man” because it is such an honest statement of “I f#$%ed up and I hope he treats you better”. My favourite raging break-up song is Pink’s “So What”. Just fun to sing along with!

  12. Whitney says:

    There was a song in the late 90s from Ben Folds Five called “Black T Shirt” or something like that. It is, in my humble opinion, the greatest “You Suck” song ever!

  13. […] I have these two amazing blogfriends, Jen at My Skewed View and Kristi at Finding Ninee. Every Tuesday these two amazing ladies host a Twisted Mixed Tape linkup. Every week they come up with amazing topics like “duets” “80′s” “breakup songs”.  […]

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
