Top Five Creepy Things My Son Said To Me – Halloween Special

25

November 1, 2013 by Katia

Ah Kids, they say the darndest things! Like that entire year of my son’s life between ages two and three when he kept staring at the little space between the closet and the wall in his room and referring to it as Harrison. Harrison was his friend, who is right there, mama!

*Raising his finger and pointing to the SAME darndest spot every single darndest time*

Harrison

With his finger pointing up to that dark corner he would cheerfully encourage me to say hi to his friend, while I was screaming and running away on the inside. And it didn’t matter that I knew full well that my son had a super vivid imagination or that an older boy my son looked up to by the name of Harrison used to attend his daycare and that creepy Harrison appeared very shortly after he graduated or even the fact that Harrison had green hair. I. Was. Freaking. Out. On the inside.

I like knowing that there’s a beyond, a deeper layer to life, I just don’t enjoy first-hand- evidencing it.

Here are some other disturbing thought provoking conversations I’ve had with my son.

October 2013 022

  • Mommy, say hi to Harrison!

Oh, is Harrison here? Is he happy?

Yes! He’s with his nanny, can you see her? Say hello, mom!

Oh, his nanny is here too? Does she look happy???

  • 37 Year Old is late from work.

4 Year Old: I really think that Abba* died.

*panicking because, duh, of course he did and not only do I have to deal with this, but in the meantime I must also fake parental calmness and reassurance?!*

  • A little girl is talking to her mommy on the playground. She’s not smiling but otherwise seems OK.

4 Year Old: does she need to know where her daddy is? (shrugging casually) Maybe she thinks that he’s dead?

  • I take my son to the bathroom early in the morning. He washes his hands in front of the large mirror.

4 Year Old: AAAAAAAAAAA!!!Oh, sorry, I thought you were a zombie. (polite smile)

October 2013 088

October 2013 037

October 2013 039

*** DO YOUR KIDS TELL YOU CREEPY THINGS?***

* Abba – the Hebrew word for dad.

*********

If you feel like reading about Snooki and from a positive angle, please visit my post which is up on MamaPop today.

25 thoughts on “Top Five Creepy Things My Son Said To Me – Halloween Special

  1. My wife and I were just reminiscing about a ghost we had at our first house we called Bernice. She sort of appeared when my oldest was born. There were too many strange things going on that we both noticed for either of us to assume the other had just gone crazy. Maybe Harrison is your Bernice.

  2. Michael says:

    I’ve always thought imaginary friends were a bit on the spooky side. Having never had one myself (that I am aware of), unless…unless i *AM* one?!?!? You all see me, don’t you?!?!?!
    My 3 year old is getting quite an imagination, every evening she tells me stories of her day, filling me in on the most ridiculous of notions (mommy let me run outside alone with marley (our dog) today, we got lost, nanna and pappa found us, etc,), so although I hope she doesn’t develop an imaginary friend, if she does, I know I must at least remain calm and play along!
    Thanks for posting, this was a very fun read!!

    • Katia says:

      Thank you, Michael! Yes, imaginary friends are totally creepy. Lucky thing we both have kids with vivid imagination, otherwise can you imagine having a kid who doesn’t imagine things but HAS an imaginary friend???

  3. Reblogged this on The Brantley Blog and commented:
    Wow! This is actually a lot cooler than the typical mom tendency to tell embarrassing stories about her kid. It will probably be equally effective at scaring off his future girlfriends though!

    • Katia says:

      Thanks for reblogging and for the introduction and as for future girlfriends? Guess I know what card to pull out once one shows up that I really can’t stand…😛

  4. My Niece somehow seems to be fascinated by the macabre, and often tells me VERY weird things about the way foxes might die…!

  5. Aussa Lorens says:

    Hahaha oh my gosh– that is wonderfully creepy! I imagine my poor children (someday, if they exist) will share a similar flare for the morbid. I remember babysitting a little boy— probably two years old– and he was crouching down very seriously. I asked what he was doing and he said “there are kids living in the walls.” I kind of believed him.

  6. Oh wow, Harrison is super creepy. I get the concept of imaginary friends and all, but still, creepy as hell.
    Haha, Harrison’s nanny too!
    The weirdest thing is, it’s always the same spot…

  7. My middle daughter has always had imaginer friends. When she was younger, they were actual people we know, but she pretended they went everywhere with us and that they were sitting with us. Now, she talks to somebody all the time – in the shower, on the toilet, when she is supposed to be sleeping. It’s kind of creepy, too!

    • Katia says:

      I remember playing tons of imagination games myself, but I never believed any of the characters I played were actual ones. Maybe your daughter’s just pretending to be both of the characters that she’s playing🙂

  8. When my kids first learned of the concept of ‘dead’ they had lots of questions about it and talked about it a lot… Oh, and I had not one but TWO imaginary friends when I was 4, and they lived in the plant in the living room. And I turned out ok. I think your little one is normal, if a bit creepy to be around on Halloween!🙂

  9. My sister Wendy had a pal only she could see named “Moolie.” Mom had to set a place at the table for Moolie for years. I can remember Wendy saying she was going to live with Moolie in a house with a white picket fence when she grew up. She doesn’t – it’s iron and she lives with a man named George. Not sure though if Moolie is absent or present. I’ll have to ask.

    • Katia says:

      😀 You made me laugh, Kelly. I love that story and what an appropriate name for an imaginary friend. If I ever have one, I’ll call them Moolie. Regardless of gender.

  10. findingninee says:

    So creepy! I love how kids’ brains work. Laughing at the “I thought you were a zombie!” too funny and perfect for a Halloween post, friend! xo

    PS I have the same IKEA rack/hook thing that your son has in his room!

  11. […] Ah Kids, they say the darndest things! Like that entire year of my son’s life between ages two and three when he kept staring at the little space between the closet and the wall in his room and referring to it as Harrison.  […]

  12. Hey sweetie! Just catching up! love the costumes! As for creepy things not yet– just a toddler screaming “poopoo” in a quiet little breakfast restaurant.

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
