The Day I Found Out I’m a Super Hero

65

November 7, 2013 by Katia

When I was a little girl, I used to enjoy the company of my paper dolls, Barbies and collection of My Little Pony. Super Heroes were not really a presence in my life other than that one time my mom used Superman in a cautionary tale context, telling me about the little boy who wanted to fly just like him. Message internalized. I’ve never aspired to be a super hero. Imagine my surprise when I became one.

I remember well, as one would, the first time I was confronted with my newly acquired super powers. That particular AHA moment occurred at the Ben Gurion airport in Israel when I was catching a tray with some tea and a croissant making its way towards me mid-air. True story. And all that after a sleepless night at the airport with a ten-month-old, I might add. When the server was congratulating me on a nice save I was right there with him, mentally adding a “WTF?” to the above.

Since then I’ve discovered the origins of my super powers. Want super powers too? The good news: it CAN be done. The bad news: you have to push out a person first or find someone who will do it for you.

The super powers moms develop are an evolutionary necessity. A survival tool. I don’t care if you’ve been working for years on perfecting your symbiosis with the couch like I have, once your one-year-old launches his hand toward the toilet where your four-year-old has been comfortably sitting for a while, you find your speed of light reaction.

Here are some of the super powers that are required of moms:

  • Speed of light reaction. Because you don’t really want to let the toilet scenario or this one play itself out.IMAG3347
  • Being at several places at the same time. You would think this super power serves moms with more than one child but let me introduce you to Four Year Old. IMAG3366Try telling him that you can’t serve his hot chocolate because you’re currently busy attending to his other request to watch something on Netflix. He will tell you you need to be more like an octopus.
  • Elastic limbs to allow you to hold the fridge door closed with you foot while making hot chocolate, because: October 2013 059Oct 2013 002Oct 2013 003July 2013 073July 2013 078
  • Carrying three plus conversations at the same time while being one.

 

What super powers have you discovered in yourself that you were not aware of?

************

This has been a Finish The Sentence Friday post on the topic “When I was a child I used to…”. Please check out our terrific hosts:

Stephanie at Mommy, For Real

Kristi at Finding Ninee

Kate at Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine?

Janine at Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic

65 thoughts on “The Day I Found Out I’m a Super Hero

  1. Couldn’t agree more, moms totally do have super powers and totally think you nailed it here. I will just add one more for good measure and that is having eyes behind my head to know when my kids are up to no good! Seriously thank you for linking this up and definitely put a smile on my face reading!🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    And the ability to summon patience you never knew you had… I dream…

  3. I LOVE those photos- so funny and perfect! My superpowers failed me tonight, big time, in an ill-fated “toilet scenario” of our own. I blame the poor sleep over the past week for my failure to react, notice all relevant details, and avoid the Code Brown Contamination that befell our family this evening.😦 Perhaps I’ll write a post about it. (This week has been killing me- I have really missed your voice! xoxo)

    • Katia says:

      That, my friend, is my worst nightmare. I was very close to it happening so many times. Sorry to hear about your contamination and PLEASE do write a post about it.😀

  4. Dana says:

    I have the super power of my voice being undetectable to my children’s ears. I can say clean up your mess ten times and amazingly no one hears me. Btw, those series of photos with the bites out of food are hilarious! You’re gonna need a lock on that fridge!

    • Katia says:

      HAHA! That was hilarious. Yes, I possess that incredible superpower too. That’s awesome and I wish that was on my list, my list master yoda🙂

  5. Sarah says:

    Ahhh, the switching between multiple conversations takes a long time to master, young jedi. I am still working on that one! I am also working on the superpower of not making the stairs creak in the morning when I wake up early to have a bit of time to myself….

  6. Fantastic photos. The ones with the itty bitty bite marks are particularily special. I have similar ones but they are now caused by either our rabbit or our dog. My special super powers have morphed over the years. The current one is the ability to get an instant response from them. When a day goes by and I don’t hear from them via text or email – they are away at universities across the country, not lingering in jail or hanging about the bus depot, thankfully – I will send them a text before bed. Usually it’s along the lines of “Hey. You guys alive?” Only once did this not receive an immediate response. I went to bed and next morning happened to fall while returning from dog walk. Bloody knee. Took photo of it and sent pic to them via phone. No words, just the pic. Boom – instant responses from both. “Are you ok, Mom?” “Yes, guys, I am now …”

    • Katia says:

      You are a wise woman, Kelly, and I am taking notes for future reference. I sense that I might have some difficulty instilling the “call mom once a day” program in the biter. It’s good that your guys are mostly compliant with the program, but it sounds like you’re on to something effective there…:-)

  7. I love this and YOU! My superpowers sucked today as I yelled at my husband that I only had 1/2 hour to do FTSF…which was dumb…your photos are incredible and you’re so right. Being a mom really does make us superheros!!!

    • Katia says:

      Oh, I hear you, my dear friend. We put so much pressure on ourselves about blogging and it doesn’t really matter that that pressure is self-generated. I hope the rest of the evening was better and I haven’t even gotten around to reading your post yet, but I have no doubt I wouldn’t have been able to tell you wrote in a half an hour, unless you talk about, which you probably do, because you’re just about the most honest person I know.🙂

  8. I can drink beers faster than a speeding bullet and still competently feed, bathe and put the kids to bed without injury. most of the time.

  9. I’m not cut out for parenting, lol. No, just kidding – maybe my superpowers will kick in after childbirth?😉

    • Katia says:

      I keep doing this to you, ignore my posts, Natalie!😛

      Also, I don’t believe that for a second. You’re sensitive and awesome and I guarantee your superpowers will kick in right away.

  10. Laughed all the way through this! Other super power: perineal power to stop mid-pee on hearing a kid scream when you’re in the bathroom. Forget kagels: embrace the power of the screaming child to tighten up that post-birth perineum. Hope I haven’t put anyone off their lunch…

  11. So true. Mine gave me different kinds of superpowers, but then they’re different kinds of kids…

    I have written about it though, and I love that it’s a known ‘thing’🙂

    • Katia says:

      I remember reading that post and commenting (if we’re referring to the same one). It was incredibly touching and the kind of post that hits you straight in the soul. I was thinking about it and it influenced me a lot as I was trying to write my “Sunshine After Storm” piece. I often think I didn’t thank you enough for connecting me to Alexa. Thank you, Lizzi!

  12. Hahaha, great post!
    Awwww, your toothy one-year-old❤ Avocados even?!

  13. Nina Badzin says:

    Oh, I feel good now because then I have super powers too. I have said to my kids, “How can I talk to all at once?” And they look at me like, “Duh, you just have to find a way.” See, I’ve confused them by having super powers in these other areas you mentioned.

    Those bite marks are so great. Aren’t you glad you took the pictures? The visual is key!

    • Katia says:

      And you know the worst part, Nine? It’s the kids and the husband that I find myself talking to all at once. It often happens when we’re in the car.

  14. Those bite marks are hilarious! I have definitely used the line “I have eyes in the back of my head” (superpowers). I have superpowers after church on Sunday. It’s like magic – I whirl in pre-heat the oven for breakfast, somehow I’ve changed my clothes and in 30is minutes my family is having a breakfast that we couldn’t have had so quickly going out to eat.

    • Katia says:

      Yes, the eyes in the back of the head thing! Did not think of that one.

      And I love what you said about church. It must be the power of being driven by something positive.

  15. Mothers are indeed super heroes, aren’t we?! I mean, we grew humans inside our bodies!! What other super peer could be great than that?!?!🙂

  16. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    LOL You are a super hero and your baby is Iron Jaw! LOL

    • Katia says:

      Iron Jaw is priceless. And sadly accurate as I’ve experienced on my own flesh many a time. I love it!!!

      • I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

        OUCH>… I hear the only way to stop a biter is biting… Guess mommy will have to tame that iron jaw and get it doing something important like the 4th of July hotdog eating contest!!! Watch out Kobayashi!!

  17. The veggie massacre totally cracked me up! It reminded me of something my Mom did when she was little. Her mother had made a tray of Paklava for company or to sell at the church bazaar or something like that. Mom wanted a piece but didn’t want to get in trouble, so instead of taking a whole one off the tray, she took a nibble off of several so her mom “wouldn’t notice.” Poor Grammy thought she had mice in the house lol.

    • Katia says:

      I LOVE children logic. I mean, that makes perfect sense! Just take a little bite of many pastries instead of finishing off one… Loved this story, Chris!

  18. well that certainly explains a lot (when I look back to my childhood years).

    But I can identify with that special state when things ‘demand more’ from us, fortunately few, I recall times when a family member has been in a bad situation and even though I’m aware that I’m entitled to get scared, nervous, upset or panicky… that gets put on hold, without conscious thought… the needs of the other totally preempt by own needs. (At the moment, post-emergency? that’s another Post altogether…lol)

  19. Jean says:

    The other night, my husband threw a cup to me and I caught it. I was standing at the bottom of the stairs and himself at the top. I never looked at the cup or broke my conversation. No part of my body moved but my arm. We continued talking and at the very end, he said “By the way, that was a nice catch.” and I said “Duh.” and went back to doing the laundry. The super-hero part? Doing something amazing and not expecting any applause or recognition for it. MOMS. Also? This post? Amazing. Your kids are adorable.

    • Katia says:

      I can totally picture that scene and I think that you’re one of my favorite people in the world, my fellow Art Historian turned unexpected object catcher at high speed.

  20. *MASSIVEHUGS* Thank you for identifying three new Superpowers for me🙂 I’m not sure I can attribute them to Jesse and Sam, but perhaps they’ve been honed as a result.

    (I ran out of stacked comments)

    Thank you for your gorgeous reply❤

  21. hello there! i enjoy reading you blog! and i nominated your blog for the sunshine award! please check it here http://thisisbeasblog.wordpress.com/🙂 have a good day! and please keep on posting iam really learning a lot🙂

  22. I think you’re raising Bunnicula…

  23. VintageInk says:

    This post was hilarious. I guess this is one of those moments where we appreciate mothers. Being a parent is a pretty hard job. And you don’t always get thanked either. I love how your posts manage to combine reality, with that little pinch of humour that makes for awesome reading..

    • Katia says:

      What a great comment, thank you so much it makes me so happy! And, yes, thank you is not really part of the program, when it comes to moms. Thank you for making me thinking about this. I am just writing a post about gratefulness and how it differs between kids and parents.

  24. Ah yes mommy super powers. As a mother of 5 kids, I too have developed the elastic limb, bionic hearing, eyes in the back of my head, and psychic abilities that I always dreamed of!

  25. Ahahaha! Those pictures are awesome! Chewing on an avocado – ick. We must have superpowers – it’s that sixth or seventh sense.🙂

  26. That’s great! Every mom is a super hero.

  27. Mama C. says:

    Talk about timing: A few hours ago, I was literally hunched over the tub giving DS a bath, washing his hair with both hands and rocking DD’s portable cradle with my left foot…oh the super powers we acquire as mamas. You hit the nail on the head with this post, Katia

  28. V L says:

    And you still had time to take photos of it all!

  29. Lindsey Currier says:

    Reblogged this on Lindsey Currier and commented:
    This sounds all too familiar…

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
