An Ode To My Husband, 37 Year Old

31

November 14, 2013 by Katia

542152_10150962448042069_1073722514_n

This week 4 Year Old and I purchased a few books at his school’s book fair. One of them was appealingly titled An Ode to Underwear and was selected by my son. As it turned out when he described it to his teacher as a How To Make a Robot book, he thought it was a how-to-make-a-robot book. I did not know that when I was quietly admiring his progressive sense of humour and originality and may have rewarded these qualities with a kiss or five or eleventy on the head. Whatever. I still think he is progressive.

In light of what I just told you, you may have found a newly-gained disapproval for the today’s post’s title, but let me reassure you. I do not intend to draw a comparison between my appreciation for my husband and the ‘didn’t spend a second thinking about you all day but good to know you’re still here!’ kind of appreciation one experiences when they are confronted with this morning’s pink ribbon underwear choice, an appreciation one has for a purely functional and occasionally decorative item such as underwear. Underwear is a necessity, I sometimes tell Four Year Old, because society says so. They’re a functional necessity that sometimes comes with ribbons on it. Husbands never wear ribbons.

As you’re reading this 37 Year Old is on an airplane. He’s travelling far, but coming back on Monday. I think of him in a lot of different ways. He is definitely functional. Whenever I think about the upcoming four day solo gig, a strange prayer starts forming up in my head.

  • Please don’t let the Netflix wii remote break while he is gone. I do not think I can handle the consequences of a Pink Panther-deprived Four Year Old.
  • Please don’t let there be a toilet overflow.
  • Please don’t let me have any nightmares.
  • Please don’t let any super creepy bugs with many legs show up.
  • Please don’t let anyone get really sick.
  • And please, PLEASE don’t let the internet break.

As the weird prayer was launched into the universe I realized its pettiness as I thought of my single mom friends. My single mom mom. My single mom mother in law. But that’s not even why I’m scratching the list.

We had such a perfect morning today of regularness and non-regularness. Dropping the kids off at daycare, bickering about life’s minutiae alongside life’s “life changings”, cleaning the house for Four Year Old’s playdate, but also ricotta and lemon filled blintzes for me and pumpkin and coconut pecan pancakes for him during a 9 am “brunch”. I knew what his choice would be before he had even decided. I chose the dish he named as a potential item of interest for me the same moment the cafe owner’s neatly scribbled letters in white chalk activated my taste buds.

I didn’t know I’d grow sad when I studied his face in the car right before he drove off.  I didn’t know I’d remember all of a sudden he was a necessity on a whole different level. You don’t expect to still feel that way about your high school sweetheart.

**********

What are the things you dread most will happen while your partner’s away?

This has been my way around the topic “when it comes to my previous relationships, my husband thinks” presented by this week’s Finish The Sentence Friday. Please check out our terrific hosts:

Stephanie at Mommy, For Real

Kristi at Finding Ninee

Kate at Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine?

Janine at Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic

31 thoughts on “An Ode To My Husband, 37 Year Old

  1. Awe, I hope the next few days go quickly for you Katia and I know as cheesy as it sounds I miss my husband when he does have to do work related things late or go away. So, I can totally relate and even as long as we have been together, I still miss him when he is gone, too.

    • Katia says:

      Thank you, Janine! And you’re totally right. All I kept thinking of while writing the post is how is it possible to write so much about your kids without ever worrying that you sound cheesy and it’s so much harder to do so with husbands…

  2. I don’t think I knew he is your high school sweetheart! I think separations are good for that reason, sometimes. Somehow I need that perspective to find my way back from resentment and irritation to appreciation.🙂 And my “prayer list” would strongly resemble yours if I was on my own! xo

  3. Sarah says:

    Good luck for your solo parenting weekend – I know so many others do it all the time, but it is still hard! And yes, I dread the toilet ever backing up while my husband is out of town. We’d probably have to go to a hotel.

  4. findingninee says:

    I had no idea he was your high-school sweet-heart and AWWW I love love love that. Also? I’m with you on the alone-prayers, and have been there when Mine travels far away, making me a single mom, too. But I think you’ve got it. If not, you’re superclose and I adore that in you. Sending magic and hopefulness your way for this weekend!!!

    • Katia says:

      Yes, I don’t advertise that he’s my high-school sweet-heart because it makes me sound super old. Which I am.

      Thank you for your magic. It’s working so far, touch wood!!!

      xo

  5. Awww. It’s magic to see just how well some couples can “read” each other – I asked PF how he knows that I’m awake without seeing my face or hearing me speak… I don’t know, nor does he. He just does. On the other hand, PF’s the one who panics the rare times I leave the ranch – he is hopeless with the internet box!

  6. tokobetsu says:

    Thank you for such succinct yet beautiful words🙂

  7. I blame my solo parenting stress on my husband. If he wasn’t such a great co-parent, I wouldn’t miss him so much when he is gone. You get used to your normal and anything different is hard.

  8. So funny – I very nearly wrote ” I want to come and live at your house” as I was reading the items on the brunch menu. Oh – you went OUT for brunch. Well that made me feel a little better. I hope the weekend flies by for you and you receive no visits from creepy bugs. Here’s to strong wifi and internet service the entire weekend!

    • Katia says:

      Nope, to try the blintzes and pumpkin pancakes you would have to come to Toronto, my friend, and visit Saving Grace with me🙂 It was a good brunch indeed and thank you so much for your wifi good vibes and prayers!

  9. “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful” – William Morris

    Sounds like your husband’s a box-ticker there🙂

    Glad that you’re still so in love, and that you have such a close, gorgeous bond.

    I hope nothing goes wrong for you while he’s away. Wishing you health, happiness, no bugs, and well-behaved netflix *hugs*

    • Katia says:

      I LOVE that quote. It’s funny, I’ve read it very recently but can’t remember where. It was probably a blog-related occasion and I feel like it might have been Sarah Rudell commenting.

      Thank you for the warm wishes. So far so good!

  10. Dana says:

    I used to dread when my husband was away, mostly because I had to parent alone. Now I can handle that easier, but I hate crawling into bed without him. Oh, and I also pray that nothing goes wrong with my car when he’s gone, because I make him deal with all of that.

  11. I dread poop when my wife is away, but that’s just me. Always with the pooping.

  12. Awww sweet! Guess what?! Christopher LOVES Pink Panther. Last year I found the box set that five discs in it. I gave it to him as an early Christmas present I we took our long distance trip to my husbands home. It’s a two-day 10 hour drive each day. Wonderful investment. Anyway, the last serious creepy crawley I had TWICE this summer, my husband was not here and I had to handle it. That’s totally not fair. If you want to read that story one day, use the search tool at the top of my page and type “roach”.😉

    • Katia says:

      I DO want to read the story and a little terrified at the same time! And guess what, I have now tackled three of the emergencies on my list but on a small scale. One (small) creepy crawler (smashed), one power outage resulting in my internet breaking on the morning I post for another website (computer restarted, thank you very much) and ESSENTIAL battery music toy where you have to mess with the screws for 20 minutes to change the battery breaking. THANKS so much, Murphy! 🙂

      Oh, and I love that Christopher loves the Pink Panther!

  13. Nina Badzin says:

    Fine! It’s petty– but I’m with you on the prayer for the internet to keep working. One of my main issues when Bryan is away is that I stay up way too late catching up on blog stuff. Hope the weekend goes well!

  14. Natalie DeYoung says:

    You know, I still feel that way about my high school sweetheart, so I understand.🙂

  15. My hubby travels often for work, so I am rather used to the role of “single mom.” However, I certainly do not sleep as well when he is gone – I miss knowing he is beside me. I also greatly miss his assistance if we have any sort of TV, computer, or technical difficulties. I also just miss having him to converse with. We share ideas, concerns, etc. I miss someone asking “How was your day?”🙂

  16. when my partner is away i am afraid to know that he does not think of me .. petty hehe and if he accidentally bump on his ex. what would be their reaction.. what would they feel.. waaahh makes my head go crazy everytime😦

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
