Are You Ever Disappointed by your Kids’ Lack of Gratitude?

17

November 27, 2013 by Katia

I challenge you to respond with a “no” to the following question “have your kids ever rewarded you with a tantrum for something you did, which you thought was actually kinda nice?” BTW, please don’t say anything if YOU win ‘K?thx.

I wrote about playground transcendental experiences and the dichotomy between our expectations and reality when it comes to thankfulness. And it’s not as boring as it sounds. And you can find my post on the Queen Latifah website, which WOOHOO!

Happy Thanksgiving, folks, and Happy Chanukkah!

P.S. Remember when my husband was away? Click this to watch the rave party at our place that weekend.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=626982337348613&notif_t=video_processed

17 thoughts on “Are You Ever Disappointed by your Kids’ Lack of Gratitude?

  1. Nina Badzin says:

    I clicked over and read the article. So well said, Kaita. I really liked the analogy from your art history professors. That totally makes sense! So cool seeing you on that site, too!

    • Katia says:

      Oh, thank you so much, my dear! I’m glad you liked that analogy, it made sense to me too! It’s kind of a “duh” observation that bringing yourself back to the age that your child is in to experience what they’re experiencing will promote a better understanding, but it does work for me.

  2. I’m going to have to remember this whenever I deal with kids. They don’t understand gratitude yet.

    • Katia says:

      I think it’s true. They do experience gratitude and express it to you but I don’t think they have a perception of ‘gratitude’. They experience it but don’t theorize it, which is why it often doesn’t come when we expect it.

  3. Shannon says:

    It’s tough. I think gratitude is something that comes with age. When I look back it boggles my mind how unappreciative of things I was when I was a child, mostly because when you are young it is all about you, and bot the bigger picture. That said, I think it’s important to teach your kids to be thankful as best as they can. Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Such an interesting observation, as if US were never THEM, I love this!

  5. Mama C. says:

    Great piece, Katia! Queen Latifah? You’ve hit the big time!!! Congrats! This is awesome.

    • Katia says:

      Thank you so much, Mama C.! Still have to stop by your blog. I’ve been really bad lately, totally disorganized. I blame it all on the job search.

  6. Hi, Katia! Great post. I’m so nostalgic about the whinges my kids had when they were little. No, really. Because the good news is that the fun continues – the whine transforms into carefully crafted plaidoiries from condescending but adorably out-of-synch teens who don’t seem to realise that you cannot/will not dig a hole under the bank for them to keep up with the latest fashion in telecommunications, pullovers or family cars. By the way, I am majorly impressed. Writing for Queen Latifa…. wowsers, girl, you are the bees knees😀

  7. Julie says:

    Re the comment above, as a parent of 3 teenager, I too love your summing up of teenagerhood! I do remember being horribly embarrassed one birthday/christmas when someone was spectacularly ungrateful for a gift(something they already had I think), I went nuts at them all and said they were to say thank you even if someone gives them a mouldy cabbage in a bag as a present. They still talk/tease me about the mouldy cabbage in a bag so I must have made an impression! I am so tempted to actually give one of them a cabbage one year just to test them!

    • Katia says:

      I think it would be so awesome if you did!

      Mine are not teenagers yet(4.5 and 16 months) but can definitely roll with the best of them. I can totally see how this would apply to teenagers too. Thanks so much for your hilarious comment!

  8. Alecia says:

    Love this article as it has happened to me countless times with a 7 and 5 year old. It is very disappointing when they don’t like something you do for them or get them. It is also hard to imagine their world when it was so long ago that you were in their shoes. Happy SITs Day!

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
