My First Vlog is STFU Parents Material. Oh and Happy New Year!

25

December 31, 2013 by Katia

So this happened today.

Parenting success

Parenting success

And not even the car, which HALLELUJAH!

So 4 Year Old and I sat down for a wholesome-fun-awww (!) type interview. Or so I thought.

If you have seven minutes watch how AWWW immediately turned into EWWWW. But not really. I kinda thought it was funny and giggled. OK, I full on laughed. OK, I’m not the age I say I am. Plus I thought he was very creative, you gotta give him that.

And to you, my dear fellow bloggers and readers, who comment, share, email, chat, nominate for awards, guest blog or invite me to guest blog for you – you’ve given me one of the most incredible years of my life.

Much love to you my bloggy sisters and brothers, my friends and family.

Now let’s talk bathroom.


25 thoughts on “My First Vlog is STFU Parents Material. Oh and Happy New Year!

  1. Brian says:

    That is a cute video, and I don’t mean regular cute. It’s super cute!

    What’s the difference between a 4 1/2 year old and a 25 (or whatever) year old? For starters, there’s the number of flatulence jokes introduced by each in a 7 minute interview. Happy new fart! Watching you talk to Ben, I can tell that you are very patient and a very good mother. You are, on the most basic level, the milk, but there is so much more to it than that.

    It might be fun if everything were jelly, except life would get pretty sticky. I don’t know about Toronto’s laws, but around here it’s not legal to marry jelly. (And besides, doing so would likewise cause some stickiness issues.)

    Thank you for your blog, Katia. You are an intelligent, insightful writer, and you often make me grin. Best wishes for you and your family in 2014!

    • Katia says:

      As always I’ve really enjoyed your thoughtful comment, Brian! My patience is really wearing thin these days. We’ve all been sick and pretty much locked up at home for the last couple of weeks and that’s rubbed off on everyone, but this was a really good moment. This video is a reminder to me of what my typical relationship is like with Ben and what I should aspire to even when I’m exhausted. Don’t know if this is making much sense. Did I mention I’m exhausted?🙂

      I haven’t found anything in Canadian law to stipulate that marrying jelly would be illegal so I’m considering it.

      Thank you once again for your heartwarming comment. I’ll pop over to your blog, hope to see some new stuff!

      Have a wonderful 2014,Brian, and of course Happy New Fart!

  2. Meg says:

    Kids really just make us laugh. I have a hard time not laughing at my son most of the time. I don’t want to hurt his feelings, so I’ll have to dash out of the room.

    • Katia says:

      I know. Me too. Because kids are funny and also grownups are really just older kids. I don’t think “bathroom talk” ever stops being funny.

  3. Ha! So funny and so cute!! Happy New Year to you!

  4. bethteliho says:

    OMG I’m watching this and laughing so hard! He’s SO BOY! It’s like he was drunk–LOL! So so cute. What a precious little one with his fart talk and giggles. I have 2 boys so my whole life is fart talk and giggles.🙂

    Happy new year! xoxo

    • Katia says:

      He’s totally boy. He was a little camera-conscious and tried to compensate for his excitement by going straight into his comfort zone – bathroom talk (as he refers to it). Happy new year to you and yours, Beth! Hugs!

  5. Awwwwwh he is the CUTEST EVER! Katia, I’d like to echo his sentiments and wish you a very, very Happy New Fart, and that you get to marry a jelly. And something about chimneys and snowdays and ice-cream and hidden – obscured in the background – something quite profoundly beautiful.

    Much love x

    • Katia says:

      Happy New Fart to you too, my dear Lizzi! If I marry a jelly that doesn’t make me a bigamist, does it? It’s possible that I can make my son very happy (without farting down the chimney, or whatever it was, that is).❤

  6. “…whats that fart smell”

    I fail to see what is so difficult to understand here, you asked…he answered!

    lol

    ‘cellent vid

  7. findingninee says:

    You both are beyond adorable! Happy 2014 to you and your family, my sweet friend. And happy fart, too🙂

  8. My life is full of potty talk. My daughter (4yo) won’t stop talking and laughing about poop and my son (1yo) just won’t stop pooping. I’m serious. The kid barely eats anything these days but he poops like four times a day! It’s so out of control over here. Adorable vlog! …and what a handsome little guy.

  9. Le Clown says:

    Katia,
    What an incredible duo you are, and a loving mother you seem to be. I am envious of your son’s hair. Happy 2014 to you, and that little clown of yours.
    Le Clown

  10. Jean says:

    Oh yes. The nature of 4 year olds! One minute they’re talking about farting and the next they spin off into something completely breathtaking- of the non stinky fart variety.

  11. Jen says:

    What were you thinking trying to get a 4.5 year old to be sentimental? Have you learned nothing?? Happy New Fart!!! And I wish you a Merry Fart too… shoot. That was rude and offensive, sorry…. Can I still have ice cream?

    • Katia says:

      Yes, you totally can because I practice double standard when it comes to me and other grownups. Consider it my revenge for my son demanding privacy in the washroom.

  12. LMAO. That is so funny. You are so calm for being on the edge! And he is so adorable. Happy new fart to you, can’t wait to see you IRL again! (ps – I love jelly, so i’m all about this kid)

    • Katia says:

      I love him in his non-confrontational mood. I think he was just going crazy from having spent that long locked up at home – holidays, weather, being sick etc. He is his old self now🙂 And I can’t wait to meet you again! I feel like last time was so short. ANY chance you’ll change your mind about BlogHer?

  13. How fun to “see” you again!! Oh, and I love the hands all over the nose….🙂

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
