Unconventional Ways in Which I’ve Used Netflix During my Mat Leave

66

March 11, 2014 by Katia

Happy let’s-pretend-it’s-spring, everyone!

So this happened last week.

Mhhhhm.

I heart you Netflix (with Vinma from A Motherless Mom)

In my defense, there was also a lot of that last week. OK, it was mostly that.

March 2014 400

“Hate” is a strong word, Lego.

But I have arrived, gang. My Netflix addiction has been officially enabled and by none other than Netflix itself!

What that means is that you should look out for Netflix-related posts from me once a month. I’ll be hashtagging them #streamteam, because hi, nice to meet you, Netflix Stream Team here (that’s me extending my manicured hand).

You know how we overuse and abuse the word exciting to describe a variety of non-exciting items like job interviews for a mail clerk position, or somebody else’s vacation? So I’m about to use the word exciting for its original purpose, the same way our ancestors used it back when it meant exciting.

When I found an email in my blog’s mailbox from Netflix, I was all “I DO!!”

Then I read it and was still on board and, yes, totally excited.

Whenever I allowed myself to fantasize about mat leave #2 Netflix was always right there partaking in the fantasy, cozily wedging itself in between baby and me nestled on the red IKEA couch. And then mat leave #2 became reality and with it the much anticipated Netflix breaks.

Here’s a recap of some of the moments I’ve shared with Netflix in the last eighteen months.

1. Escaping the early breastfeeding cabbage-leaf-in-bra reality in favour of a far less scary or confusing one with Lost – Eerie number sequences? Smoke Monster? John Lock? Seasons 4-8? Meh. There’s a cabbage leaf in my bra and I put it there myself. How’s that for parallel universe meets NO WAY!?

2. Date nights with The Walking Dead – Soooo we have two kids under five.We don’t get out much. In our spare time we enjoy watching other zombies. Occasionally we fantasize about Shane’s unlikely comeback. Well, half of us do, anyway. #teamshane

3.Polar vortexing with Garfield and The Pink Panther – And sometimes it’s minus 25º for weeks on end and your kids are suffering from The Daycares – a nasty cough they can’t shake – and somebody needs to make food and it probably has to be you because they’re four and eighteen months old, so Darthvield (as Star Wars curious Four Year Old likes to call the lazy cat) babysits.

Netflix2

Polar vortexing is fun!

4. Catching up on being a member of society with Homeland, Orange is the New Black and Downton Abbey – Yes, I might be wearing yoga pants in non-exercisical contexts. I may never even be seen NOT wearing my yoga pants EVER again until I start working, but I can name drop and work Crazy Eyes and The Dowager into a conversation like anyone else.

5. Regressing with Pretty Little Liars – Wait a minute, this is so confusing, “A”? (see what I did there?) I remember watching shows like that and being all “OMG, why exactly are they shoving Mr. and Mrs. Walsh up my throat again?” and now I’m all like “hmmm, Sydney doesn’t look so bad for her age, A? She barely changed at all! Do I think she’s seeing someone for that? Do I need to see someone? OK, what’s up with the excessive parent screen time? OMG, am I supposed to be team parents or team kids? Who AM I???” #enterexistentialcrisis

***

This March break I will probably be watching Happy Feet II with Four Year Old. What’s your kid/grownup Netflix obsession?

66 thoughts on “Unconventional Ways in Which I’ve Used Netflix During my Mat Leave

  1. pileofbabies says:

    Woo hoo! Welcome aboard the Stream Team train! This is month 2 for me. I lurves it.
    Also, you crack me up.

  2. Maya says:

    House of cards and Orange is the new black fo sho….

  3. Congrats! We’re addicted to The Walking Dead, Downton Abbey, True Blood, Sherlock, and Homeland. We don’t get out much either.😉

  4. Jean says:

    While breast feeding my daughter, I watched all of Gossip Girl. No joke. Now, I’m obsessed with House of Cards. Netflix should start a longitudinal study on shows watched by parents while children were in their infancy and the effects it had on the child’s personality. My daughter throws down a real mean glare a la Blair. Also? I had that couch, in red.

    • Katia says:

      I LOVE how you think!!! I totally think you should do a post about this. And yes, I can see some traces of smoke monster in 18 Month Old, so I concur with your observation.

  5. LOL. I heart you. Congrats on your new gig.

  6. Girl, you are so glamourous.😉

  7. Sarah says:

    Katia, you’ve got to try House of Cards. I actually haven’t started season 2, which is sort of extraordinary considering how completely hooked I was by season 1. I would think about the characters during the day and couldn’t wait to follow them further after the kids were in bed. That says something, right? They’re horrible in many ways, but completely riveting.

    • Katia says:

      Oh, I have! I’ll be starting season 2 when we finish Once Upon a Time. I know. And, yes, I completely agree with your assessment. I also had a little crush on the guy who played Peter. I think his name was Peter. I am the kiss of death to cute male characters, it would appear.

  8. Sandy Ramsey says:

    I am a Netflix junkie….Once Upon A Time, Orange Is The New Black, Breaking Bad, Pretty Little Liars (yes, I know!)…I was watching it to see if it was appropriate for my daughter! On deck, House of Cards. I love Netflix!

    • Katia says:

      HA! I’m watching Once Upon a Time right now (as in dating my husband to it). I’ve just finished season 3 of Pretty Little Liars (I’m curious, what’s the verdict BTW, appropriate for your daughter or not? I wouldn’t know how to handle this one…) which I watch on my “lunch break” and how I had no idea what to watch next. I’ve watched everything on your list🙂 Great minds…

  9. Liz Wright says:

    My sons love Daniel Tiger and I’m a pretty big fan of him myself. They also love any dinosaur movies we can find. I love that we can search or even after we finish watching one dino movie it suggests another that we may not have found. Of course that gets my kids all upset that it’s now time to shut off the TV and take a bath, but it’s good to see the other options that relate to what we’re watching and enjoying.

    • Katia says:

      Oh, that’s a good recommendation, I’m always looking for new shows to check out with my kids! I don’t even know Daniel Tiger, which is funny, since my little one is Daniel🙂

  10. JudahFirst says:

    I have kept up with Bones on Neflix. I also liked Heroes, Merlin, and we watch House of Cards (but after the last episode I saw, I think I’m going to stop). Sherlock was incredible, and, of course, I’m a Downton Abbey junkie.🙂

    I just started “The Following” and it’s bloody! But I adore Kevin Bacon and the other lead actor, so I will continue for a while.

    • Katia says:

      I’ve tried Bones and didn’t get into it, but I love House of Cards and Sherlock was actually the first show I watched on Netflix, so I’m all sorts of nostalgic for it. I look forward to watching The Following and Merlin! Oh and I should SO watch Heroes, I’ve always regretted not watching it!

      • JudahFirst says:

        Some people believe that Heroes went down after the 1st season or two, but I loved it to the very end. They are going to make a mini-series next year that supposedly has a more satisfying ending. Oh, I almost forgot – our first Nefflix addiction was Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It was awesome! And then there was Everwood, but I don’t believe you can stream it and when we saw it they didn’t offer the final season – we bought it, it was that good!

      • Katia says:

        I loved watching Buffy back in the day then tried watching it again on Netflix and I must’ve changed. I couldn’t watch more than a few episodes. I should try it again. You’ve got some great recommendations, thank you!🙂

  11. funny you should mention Netflix (well, maybe not funny, but more funny)… we enjoyed watching the movie ‘Hansel and Gretel’ when it first came out as a rental on appletv, but when we went to rent it again (it’s a fun movie), it was no longer for rent, only for sale! One evening last week, on a whim, I went to Netflix and searched for it and there it was, not only available for rent, but for free!
    The movie, Hansel and Gretel, while being the old Brothers Grimm tale that we all grew up knowing, hass been updated… and adultified, which is to say, good movie, you might want to do a preview before calling out, “get the popcorn everyone!”

    • Katia says:

      😀 I feel like my husband may have watched that recently! I should check it out. I’m currently watching a somewhat embarrassing to admit show called Once upon a Time which is an occasionally entertaining twist on kids’ story books.

  12. I spend at least 7 hours a week watching Netflix- AT LEAST. It’s kind of scary!

  13. lostlilies12 says:

    Love the post. I’m on mat leave number 2 as well and Netflix helps me feel like I have a life and can still talk to people over the age of four. Ha ha.

  14. bethteliho says:

    Wait, I still don’t get why you were at a netflix event? Soviet! Reading this surrounded by two loud boys!

    I LOVE NETFLIX. Currently, I’m catching up on house of cards.

  15. bethteliho says:

    I’m literally snotting on myself laughing at the stupid autocorrect that put in the word soviet! I SO didn’t write that! ROFLMAO!!

    • Katia says:

      Oh, yes, thank you for clarifying, my friend. I was trying to understand if you’re fondly referring to me as Soviet now, or is the red carpet/background??? :-)) Netflix invited a bunch of Canadian bloggers to be their local stream team. They have these teams world wide. We write reviews on shows.

      • bethteliho says:

        That’s one of the funniest autocorrect fails I’ve ever done! Tied with telling a friend via text that “the fungus is all over my lady bush” when I meant to say LAST bush!!! LMAO

        and OMG that’s the coolest thing ever! Stream Team – YES. What an amazing gig.

      • Katia says:

        OMG, that lady bush autocorrect has to be the best one EVER!!! There’s probably a twitter or something for autocorrect fails where you should totally advertise this and connect to your blog. You’ll get lots of views.😀

      • bethteliho says:

        Oh I would have that one ALL over social media if I’d known then what I know now! It happened over a year ago….I didn’t have a FB account, didn’t even know what twitter was, and certainly didn’t blog!! DANG.

  16. Dana says:

    Am I the only person in North America who hasn’t tried Netflix? Somehow I manage to watch plenty of television anyway. I’m afraid to get it; I may never leave the couch!

    • Katia says:

      It’s true. I don’t leave the couch. The couch and I have the kind of symbiotic relationship that some fish have with other fish who clean their teeth.😛

  17. We love Netflix!!! We devoured Orange is the New Black and Breaking Bad thanks to Netflix, and we have several more that we love. I still have to start Downtown Abbey. I’m way behind, but I tend to not follow the crowds, yeah right. I was addicted to the Bachelor until last night. Stupid Juan Pablo, and to think I defended him on your last blog.

    • Katia says:

      I know!!!! How awful was last night? I feel horrible for defending him too! I felt like taking five showers after last night’s and all my muscles hurt from awkwardly cringing through the ENTIRE episode. There was not one comfortable moment!

      • I’m just so disappointed in him. He fooled me into thinking he was a good man and a good dad. I really can’t get over how angry I am about it. Pathetic really to have such a reaction to television, but it’s true.

  18. The Waiting says:

    I just finished Orange Is the New Black. Mmmmmm….so bad it’s good. Right now I’m watching Freaks and Geeks and letting out a primal scream at the end of each viewing because WHY did that show ever get cancelled??

    • Katia says:

      Totally. I can’t wait for season 2, although I must say I was kind of shocked and taken aback by the season’s ending. I don’t like genre flips and this definitely felt like one.

      I haven’t Freaks and Geeks!

  19. Funny as always. I too adore Netflix. I’m about to get into Castle, I think.

  20. […] post was inspired by Katia over at IamtheMilk thank you for the reasurance that im not the only one relying on netflix a […]

  21. Leighann says:

    happy to be joining you on the streamteam!! Love Orange is the New Black!

  22. Claire says:

    I’m so tempted to get Netflix right now…

  23. Jen says:

    We basically love Netflix here because I abhor commercials. So you name it, we’re watching it. From Martha Speaks to White Collar… oh I love White Collar hubba hubba.
    Hmm… I think I have plans tonight.

  24. Roshni says:

    Netflix is still our buddy! I think you should know that!😛 Seriously, how exciting to go to an actual red carpet event!

    • Katia says:

      Netflix is my number one buddy!

      And to be honest it wasn’t really a red carpet, but it was an amazing reception that Netflix threw on Oscar night🙂

  25. Go you!!! I am so happy for you! I love that you too put cabbage leaves in your bra- surprisingly effective, no?😉

  26. Nina Badzin says:

    Scandal and Orange is the New Black. I will forever be grateful to Netflix for giving me some wonderful binge watching of those two shows this year.

  27. You’re funny. I like you.
    Here’s my problem with netflix- I can only get it on my smartphone. AAAAACHHHH… after the first three episodes of The Walking Dead, I needed lasix surgery. And some Excedrin. I can’t do it anymore… I had to go back to cable.

    • Katia says:

      😀 HA, thank you and talk about funny!

      Yeah, my husband totally rocks the Netflix on your cell phone thing, whereas I feel like my life is complicated enough as it is. I couldn’t do the small screen thing either.

  28. So, confession time…I’ve never used Netflix!! But, this sounds like a bandwagon I may jump on. How is it different than using OnDemand with my DirecTV? I need a tutorial and a really good reason to have to learn a new system!!! Man, that makes me sound old🙂

    • Katia says:

      Hey, friend! I think that the difference is that On Demand only gives you a few recent episodes to watch, whereas on Netflix you find entire seasons, which is what makes it so addictive. Hitting “next episode” is just so damn easy!!!

  29. I have also fallen into the NETFLIX vortex and may not come back. -V- Live Long and Prosper. (Star Trek is available too).

  30. Aishaz says:

    I don’t breast feed but I do watch Pretty Little Liars! Well, my oldest is almost seven so can’t watch it with her besides I hardly get time with home work and lessons in between. But some how I manage to spare sometime for myself once in a while! Love it and love this post too😀

  31. Aussa Lorens says:

    Haha! I lived with a friend for the last month of her pregnancy and stayed for the first 6 weeks after the baby was born so that I could help her out– we managed to watch 7 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy.

  32. You look fab Katia🙂 And thanks for the shout out by posting this pic lol! We sure had fun that day, didn’t we?

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
