Excuse me, You’re Stepping on My Boob – My Experiences with Autonomy Loss in Motherhood

4

March 31, 2014 by Katia

I was thinking recently that almost every single one of my posts that deals with parenting could be filed under “ways in which motherhood surprised me”. I wrote this post in August and am dedicating this today to my new readers and the moms in the UK celebrating Mother’s Day.

iamthemilk

Bucket lists are about grandiose wishes uninhibited by realistic limitations. Sure, I’d love to travel, eat in the world’s best restaurant and not bungee jump but I would trade of all of that for one simple wish. I’d like for my face and other parts of my body to experience a non-eventful day tomorrow, with no accidental  hits or kicks if possible, please, thank you.

A turning point in my life was when someone stepped on my boob and opened my eyes to what my body had become or more accurately to what it no longer was. No, I’m not into kinky stuff, if you’re willing to overlook my sleep fetish. The boob stepper was my four-year-old son, who relies on two categories to classify his questionable actions: on purpose and on accident. While the boob steppery was definitely an on accident. I remember the chain of vaguely formulated…

View original post 1,053 more words

4 thoughts on “Excuse me, You’re Stepping on My Boob – My Experiences with Autonomy Loss in Motherhood

  1. findingninee says:

    I loved this then, and I love this now. So much. You, too. As far as the loved.

  2. motherhendiaries says:

    Gahaha! Those days are well behind me now… but, oh, I remember them. Painfully well! Thanks for making me laugh…🙂

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
