They Say it’s Your Earth Day

27

April 22, 2014 by Katia

One of the things that never cease to amaze me, as an only child, are the clear undeniable differences in siblings produced by the same set of parents… I’m not sure why, but one of my favourite things as a mom is discovering these little idiosyncrasies. Although I was definitely able to identify particular personality traits in Twenty Month Old from very early on, observing him through a “versus” lens, especially as a baby, was a a personality-defining aid. While Four Year Old couldn’t wait to start talking and despite all warnings still views every stranger as an exciting conversation target, Twenty Month Old was much slower to embrace words and slower yet to embrace strangers. My younger son’s speech development pattern has also been a different one. He would learn a new word, then become exclusive with it for awhile, gradually start using it to signify different things and eventually dumping it altogether for the sake of a new word. One of the only words he stayed committed to was Mow Mow, cat.

From the way he excitedly communicates his recurring wish to remove the wooden cat decoration from the top kitchen shelf so he could hold and study it, it’s become increasingly clear that you’re either born a cat person or not. Twenty Month Old hyperventilates with excitement and tries to ditch his stroller whenever he notices a Mow Mow across the street and will sometimes even yell at it “wait!”.

The animals I’ve owned through the years marked different stages in my life. Life with mom, grandma and her sister was the Cat Era. Shortly before moving in with my future husband I got a dog and entered Commitment. My two sons already differ in many different ways. They will also have slightly different childhood memories. One of them experienced the joy of pet owning the other one didn’t, but both show that innate fascination with nature. They smell flowers, marvel and birds and dig up dirt whenever they can.

L&Bheartscats

Although I spend time outdoors with my kids, my comfort zone is at home, behind this computer, writing a post for Netflix about Earth Day. However, when we talk nature and its attendant, bugs, I tell my four-year-old that mommy’s way isn’t always the right way, it’s just her way and he can have different preferences. Today when I pick him up from school I want to tell him that I hope he and his brother preserve their sense of excitement about nature, because it’s a direct line, if there was ever one, to gratitude.

 

earth day

***

Related:

Hiking in the Snow While City Girl

I am not Ready to Embrace the Mosquitoes but I’m ok with Nature Now

Hi! I write for Netflix once a month as part of their Stream Team. This post was dedicated to Earth Day. In preparation for earth day I’ve been watching a bunch of shows with Four Year Old, occasionally joined by his brother. (There were no cats).

If you intend to celebrate or talk about Earth Day with your kids, here are some shows that Netflix recommends and curated for you:

Grownups – Documentaries:

Farmageddon

Vegucated

Food, Inc.

My husband, Thirty Seven Year Old, suggests that you may also be interested in these Ted Talks found on Netflix (did you know that TED Talks was on Netlix?)

Eco Enigma

Environment Project Makeover

Older Kids:

The Blue Planet: A Natural History of the Oceans

Chasing Ice

Addicted to Plastic

Little Kids:

Sesame Street: The Camouflage Challenge

Dinosaur Train: Stargazing on the Night Train/Get into Nature

Wild Animal Baby Explorer: Beaks and Bills

27 thoughts on “They Say it’s Your Earth Day

  1. It never ceases to amaze me how different my two boys are. I am often flabbergasted at how the same parents can produce offspring that are so different. I also like to look at their physical attributes, and tell them “you’ve got granddad’s feet” or “auntie’s teeth”!

    • Katia says:

      I know I often see my past in my future in them when I see my grandma in Four Year Old. It’s so nice to have that sense of continuity embodied in your kids.

  2. Judah First says:

    I have a sort of fascination with this as well. 2 things have amazed me over the years:

    1. How each of my siblings and I interpreted our growing up years from completely different perspectives,

    and

    2. How completely different my 3 children are, no matter how much they look alike!

    Also, I did not k now Ted Talks were on Netflix. Thanks for that tip.🙂

    • Katia says:

      I would so love to read more about your #1. It’s endlessly fascinating to me! Have you written any posts about that?

      My kids look so much alike I sometimes have to do a double take when I look at pictures (and the originals…) despite the three year difference!

  3. Sarah says:

    That first paragraph got me. Hardly a day goes by that I am not amazed at the differences between two people with the same genetic material! A friend of mine once said, “You have one child, and you think, ‘Aha! This is what the combination of my spouse and me looks like,’ and then you have another child and think, ‘What? It can look different?'” Nature, nurture, birth order. It all plays a role, and it’s so fascinating.

    • Katia says:

      Oh, exactly, you’ve put it so well, I couldn’t have said it better myself! I remember thinking when I only had one child “what else could our kid look like? This is exactly what I should have expected!” only to be having similar thoughts on #2…

  4. My kids are the exact opposite of each other, so different in many ways but I love that they can find common grounds and get along. Sometimes.🙂

    • Katia says:

      Mine are not THAT different, which is what makes discovering the differences even more exciting for me, since I’ve long assumed that they are similar😀

  5. Your title is adorable….and now I can’t get that song out of my head…and I love it!
    Cheers love🙂

    • Katia says:

      Sorry about that, that’s kind of annoying, isn’t it?🙂 It’s better, though, than Hangin’ Tough which I’ve been stuck with for the last few days… xo

  6. Only you can make a post about Netflix and Earth Day absolutely witty and unique.🙂 My son is also on the hunt for conversation targets. He basically narrates life from sun up to sun down. Including sun down. “It’s night! Mamma, e’ notte!” xo

    • Katia says:

      That’s such a bull’s eye description of the type of interaction Ben engages in! He narrates his entire day, but since it always starts with a very polite “excuse me” no stranger ever suspects what they’re in for…🙂

  7. motherhendiaries says:

    Very nice post!! My two were chalk and cheese for sure! I still can hardly believe they are related!🙂

  8. Sarah Almond says:

    My two children are so totally different as well. What I can’t believe is how well they get along despite that. 🙂

    Mow Mow-this totally made my day, how adorable is that as a word for cat? 🙂

    • Katia says:

      Yeah, he seems to enjoy the word and so do we!😀 I think my guys are going to get along just fine as well. Kind of a Yin and Yang thing😀

  9. pileofbabies says:

    This title had me singing “it’s your earth day” all day long.

  10. findingninee says:

    First, kudos on a great title. I have “They say it’s your EARTH day” playing in my head now. And you know, I think it’s really fascinating how different siblings are. I look at me and my two brothers, and we’re all vastly different. Even the two of them, both boys, are night and day from one another. It’s so amazing to think that some of this is genetically coded or whatever – that individuality and personality can still play such a huge role in nature vs. nurture thing. I love the ending too – that nature is a direct line toward gratitude. You’re so right.

  11. bethteliho says:

    Oh gosh, I constantly marvel at how alike and unlike at the same time my boys are! Mine are nearly 3 years apart, too. I have a frame that holds 9 photos of the boys when they were itty bitty, and my husband and I can hardly tell them apart. Their temperaments differ widely. My eldest is more reserved and always calm…until he’s not. When he’s upset, it’s a giant meltdown like a teenage drama queen. My youngest is the opposite: he’s stubborn, wild, loud, obstinate, explosive, and demanding. He would be great as the enforcer of a hockey team.

    here’s what’s strange, though. As infants, they were the exact opposite! Goes to show you, you can’t really tell what their personalities will be based on infant behavior! My youngest (pain in the rump) was the easiest, sweetest baby!

    Love the Netflix recommendations. I’m going to look for that one about the history of oceans. My boys would love it!

  12. Roshni says:

    The Husband and I love watching TED Talks and yes, we watch it on Netflix!

  13. Jen says:

    You are right about the sibling thing. My sister and I are like night and day. I am a cat person first. She is a dog person first. If I can’t have a cat I choose a small dog. She chooses a giant dog. Also she is outgoing and happy, I am shy and brooding🙂
    Get a cat!

  14. I am chagrined. For several reasons. First of all, how long has it been since I’ve read your gorgeous writing? I’ve been in a hole of my own making lately, and I’ve missed you! Second, I totally frickin’ missed Earth Day this year, because it was the same day as the infamous Sock Hop to which my latest post was devoted. I felt sheepish when I realized the next day that I totally missed it. Oh, and one parting comment- love how you described your son being “exclusive” with a word. That is the perfect summary of toddler language development!🙂🙂

    • Katia says:

      My dearest friend! I feel exactly the same way about my own absence from your blog!🙂 I’ve taken a somewhat forced hiatus during which I’ve been trying (unsuccessfully so far) to figure out “how do I do this”. I am so happy you liked the post and I’ll be reading yours and commenting soon. xoxox

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
