On Synthetic Children and Female Empowerment

2

March 20, 2015 by Katia

Sometimes I’m deep.

Sometimes I’m funny.

I had a chance to explore both sides through my Yummy Mummy Club posts this week.

The first one is a fun exploration of the evolution of Cinderella shown through movie trailers from a feminist standpoint.

The second topic still has me reeling. You may have heard of Italian designer duo, Dolce & Gabbana’s, reference to babies conceived through IVF as “synthetic”. Both my sons were conceived through IUI, which although not IVF, probably still defines them as synthetic in the eyes of certain people. This post is my rebuttal to those expanding the borders of insensitivity and ignorance.

As always your comments on two topics near and dear to me are greatly appreciated.

 

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

synthetic

 

2 thoughts on “On Synthetic Children and Female Empowerment

  1. momsranting says:

    I have a cousin who used medication to help her ovulate in order to have her first two kids. Her third, funny enough, was the “accident” that happened after being told she could not get pregnant on her own. Sad thing, we have a very righteous Catholic uncle who has referred to her older kids as “fake” because they were not conceived “naturally”… and so are in some way inferior to her third. Thank god most people don’t feel this way, but still makes you want to slap them upside the head just once, doesn’t it?

    • Katia says:

      I was AMAZED to read this comment. I don’t know too much about catholicism and I’m sure that this is not representative of it, but I’ve encountered similarly uninformed opinions in Judaism stemming from total lack of flexibility and rigidity of thought. And, yes, totally makes you want to smack them on the head😀

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
