What the Hallmark Card Didn’t Say

7

May 20, 2015 by Katia

Do you ever feel like the card you’ve selected to mark a special event doesn’t begin to capture your true feelings about its significance? Have you ever felt that it maybe even contradicts them by being so impersonal and generic?

Earlier this month we’ve celebrated my older son’s birthday. He turned six and I bought him a super hero birthday card.

card

The card I selected captured none of the warmth or tenderness I feel toward him. The words we put on that card were in big print letters, short and legible. They reflected a fraction of our feelings. I wanted something more personal. More lasting. I wanted him to be able to go back to that card as a grownup and absorb. I’ve decided to try and pour my unconditional love and experience into words elsewhere.  You can read them here.

**

I’m not Role Model mom but I’m hoping that I’m Real Model. To view my honest, messy, trying-to-figure-it-all-out updates follow me on Facebook.

 

 

7 thoughts on “What the Hallmark Card Didn’t Say

  1. Oh I love that… what a great sentiment and lesson for your child…. my girl’s birthday on saturday – we always make our cards but i might add a little extra something special – thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Jana says:

    I loved your post, Katia! I hope you print it out and fold it up inside Ben’s card, storing it away where he can read what you really wanted to say sometime in the future, when he is old enough to understand it all

    • Katia says:

      What a terrific idea, Jana! Believe it or not, he thought never crossed my mind. I’ll definitely do this🙂 thank you so much for the idea, kind words and thoughtfulness! Xo

  3. Oh, Katia, this is special. Love how you closed with “Take all the cards and letters that were ever written by mothers to their children and I still love you more than that. More than any card could ever contain.” Beautifully put.
    I am rather stubborn when it comes to cards. The ones that are simply signed with the names of the senders leave me cold. However, the ones that include a weensy personal comment or note are treasured.

  4. Love it! Great idea.

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
