Creating a Bond with Your Child – A Post in Pictures

14

June 30, 2015 by Katia

I believe that nostalgia plays a big part in the bond we create with our children. In moving countries and continents I’ve eliminated the shared geography basis. In having boys, some further shared interests were crossed off the list. The nostalgia I felt toward the components of my own childhood has been stripped off of some essential ingredients, but the bond that this reduced form of nostalgia allows is all the more valuable for that reason precisely.

Shared childhood interests can be found in unexpected places.

Greek Myths

You liked hearing about the Gods and their shenanigans, he wants to hear about the heroes and their battles.

Some things from your childhood are always relevant.

Cookie

My favourite Sesame Street character. Along with Bert. You heard it right the first time.

He is six now.

He is six now.

Other things grow in and out of favour.

pepper

I’m making stuffed peppers and thinking about my grandma.

Some pivotal characters from your life will only blaze through theirs, but they will leave a mark.

A moment never to be repeated.

A moment never to be repeated.

I miss my childhood, the people, experiences, places and magic that came with it, but every so often I get to brush up against it through my kids. And for that, too, I am eternally grateful. *** This was a Netflix Stream Team post on the topic of throw back. Some of my own favourite childhood shows that my children now watch are Sesame Street, Garfield and I was recently amazed to find a super oldie from my super childhood – Maya the Bee. Do you watch any of your favourite childhood shows with your kids?

14 thoughts on “Creating a Bond with Your Child – A Post in Pictures

  1. notsoquietmomma says:

    OH yes we watch a lot of things….it seems more like the older kids are sharing their favorite’s with the youngers and that’s awesome to me too. Also things like songs….and the strawberry shortcake dress my grandma made me when I was 7 that now all my girls have worn!

  2. Ina Library says:

    This was so touching! I loved the photos! I watch I Love Lucy with my son and he loves it! He dances to the theme song! It’s wonderful to share your favorites with your babies and they will always remember it as special to you, making it special to them!!๐Ÿ™‚ great post, mama!

    • Katia says:

      Thank you so much! I love your observation about how the fact that something is special to you is enough to make it special for them. So accurate and something that I needed to hear๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I loved Bert too! For some reason, my kids never got into Sesame Street but I did get them to watch the Brady Bunch, one of my childhood favorites. Such sweet pictures, Katia.โค

    • Katia says:

      Yes, my kids never specifically request Sesame Street, but they seem open to watching itbnow. They much prefer Garfield to it๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo

  4. This is a beautiful post – and sentiment. So much of my childhood is linked to my parenting…. lessons learned and moments relived. I took my girls to the place we holidays every year as a child – an old cottage on the west of Ireland. The cottage is gone but as I walked them down to the old harbour, their hands rushing the hedgerows as mine had done, I almost saw myself as a child, running and and laughing with them, my childhood ghost playing with my children. You’ve captured this feeling so well…

    • Katia says:

      Thank you! I think it’s you who captured that feeling beautifully in your comment! I’m glad you got to experience that with your daughters! I honestly think it strengthens the bond.๐Ÿ™‚

  5. You’ve reminded me of the Barney character – BJ – costume that my sister got at a yard sale and gave to my son. He was 3 at the time and looked beyond adorable in it. Somewhere there are priceless photos of him in it. I must unearth them. Sadly, he’s now 6 feet tall and I suspect he’s a tad too large for it now …

  6. Hi, new to blogging and I just stumbled upon your blog. Beautiful heartfelt writing! I really enjoyed reading Nostalgia post. I try as well to create memories for my daughter that she will hopefully share with her own family one day!

    • Katia says:

      That’s wonderful! I think that blogging is the only way I’ve been committed to preserving memories through. Good luck and most importantly enjoy!

  7. Great blog writing. Love the name especially! New to blog writing myself. Will take inspiration from you!๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
