You’re Forty, Now What? Seven Strong Female Leads in Must-Watch Shows

10

March 31, 2016 by Katia

You're Forty. Now What-

March is the month when we celebrate International Women’s Day. It is also the month when we celebrate finally catching up with the age our children always thought we were – old, but that one’s more of a personal milestone.

I’ve only been doing forty for a couple of weeks but I am VAAARY excited about this because according to popular belief and the “Fabulous at Forty” t-shirt that Facebook’s been trying to sell me ever since I was only thirty nine, I’m blossoming into a bunch of new adjectives like wise, assertive and elegant. I am eagerly awaiting the biological transformation of the mush known as my sleep deprived brain into an instrument channeling wisdom. I cannot wait to start speaking in quotes forcing even my fiercest opposition to listen, mouths agape, as I branch out from topics like listening, flushing, turning the TV off and wearing socks and tackle the hashtag-worthy.

I cannot wait for my recessive elegance gene to find its voice and start speaking to the world in nonchalantly draped (tossed?) scarves and meticulously paired jewelry/outfit ensembles (I do intend to start using the word “ensemble” more frequently).

You may notice that I’ve skipped assertiveness. I’m not AS educated on that category and am not exactly sure how the process will transpire, and whether any donors will be involved, so I’m just stepping aside and letting fabulous forty fabulous forty.

By this point you can already tell that the whole physical/behavioural part of my transition is really coming together. I’ve developed an age appropriate femme fatale laughter (affectionately referred to by my six year-old as “creepy”) which would only further enhance your impression. I hear that in addition to the cognitive and physical appearance upgrade that awaits me there will also be some psychological shifts taking place. I will stop with all the juvenile nonsense that characterized my earlier life (think: caring and trying) and replace that with healthier behaviours and thought patterns like not caring and not trying. The caring switch (I’m told) is off (any time now)!

I know that science is science and you don’t mess with that, so like I said I’m letting age do its thing, but while that’s happening I’m going to sit back and do what I do best (by “sit back” I mean “sit down” and by “what I do best” I mean “watch Netflix”) and hope that some of the magic rubs off on me:

House of Lies

I will never be as unapologetic as Jeannie, but I will strive to apologize and justify less.

 

House of Cards

The Mindy Project

My style aspiration can best be described as a cross between Claire Underwood’s sophisticated elegance and Mindy Lahiri’s lack thereof. Shudder and fist bump. I will accept that clothes – whether clean-lined and stern or loud and colourful – make me happy and there is nothing wrong with that.

How to Get Away with Murder

I will do as Annalise Keating says.

The Fall

I will remind myself that I am not defined by other people’s notions of me.

 

The Killing

Meet Sarah Linden from The Killing. Emotional range stretches from intense to also intense. I do not identify with Linden’s pathological immersion in her work life nor the other aspects of her character but I couldn’t not include her here since I consider The Killing (its first season, at least) to be the best show on Netflix Canada. I know that many of you are not in Canada, but I hear you might be coming (wink, wink). The next time you’re stuck consider these shows, they’re some of my favourite ones, and don’t forget to tell me what you think.

P.S. When life gives you lemons and you’re feeling BLAH, pretend that you’re Donna.

Suits

***

This was a Netflix Stream Team post. What are you watching on Netflix right now and what should I watch next?

 

 

10 thoughts on “You’re Forty, Now What? Seven Strong Female Leads in Must-Watch Shows

  1. larva225 says:

    LOVED the Killing. Watched the first 2 seasons here on A&E and finished on Netflix. We’re currently on Daredevil. It’s very good, I’m surprised to say.
    Oh, and if you get some kind of nonchalant scarf tutorial? Share it, s’il vous plait. I’ve been in the 40 bracket for over 2 years and I’ve yet to figure that one out.
    Oh, and I’ve already ordered and started wearing my Underwood 2016 Tshirt.

    • Katia says:

      😀 I LOVE your comments! I would totally wear an Underwood 2016 T! I have more to say about this, but I’ll bite my tongue. Yes, I do intend to watch Daredevil. Jon Bernthal is in it now, which really leaves me no option but to watch.

      I’ll keep you in the loop once I figure out the scarf thing (see what I did there?)😀

  2. I’ve been watching Gotham on Netflix. It’s got one of the best female leads in Jada Pinkett Smith’s Fish Mooney. She’s a psychopath, but she’s a stylish, sophisticated, and ass-kickingly awesome one. I highly recommend the series, if only for Fish. But it also has other amazing characters.

  3. storystorks says:

    Holy cow. I turned 40 last year and my ‘not caring’ has just started. I hadn’t put the two together until I read this, probably because I don’t have Netflix! I shall work to rectify that just as soon as I’ve chosen today’s scarf.

    • Katia says:

      So you’re late to not caring, don’t worry about it. The only appropriate reaction is to not care, especially since it sounds like everything is running smoothly in the scarf department.😉 Thanks so much for commenting!

  4. I made it through the 40’s and hit early 50’s, where ‘not-caring’ is a special land at Disney for my kind–I guess it comes with the AARP card, which gets delivered exactly 3 weeks prior to 50, as if it wasn’t already bad enough. I stay forty-ish, because we have young ones, Little and Big, 5 and 8. My netflix watching days are filled with their picks. Imagines the evil of House of Cards while trying to teach the wisdom and morals of foundations? And then, to stay up…well that’s a whole other story. Thank you for this awesome post which made my Monday jolt alive!

    • Katia says:

      No, thank YOU for this awesome comment that made MINE jolt alive amidst a very pesky cold. Young ones are good, I think they keep us young longer, or at least that’s what I very incoherently tell myself through the temporary fog in my brain. And you’re right, House of Cards and children? Probably not the best combo…Have a great week, Lisa!

  5. YESSS: THE FALL & THE KILLING.
    Did you know that the serial killer in The Fall is Christian Gray in 50 Shades?
    Very Hot.
    –Just finished Frankie & Grace on Netflix. If you haven’t watched, you must.

    • Katia says:

      I did know it was the same actor and, yes, I agree, hot!

      Thanks so much for the recommendation. I always like to have my next shows lined up. Right now I’m watching Happy Valley – I think you’ll like it if you liked The Killing. It’s not as dark or brilliant, but it’s well written and has good actors in it. After that I’ll be watching Bloodline and Frankie and Grace (or was it Grace and Frankie?)🙂

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
