Exciting News

7

March 10, 2015 by Katia

You know how when you read my blog mi casa becomes su casa in a way?

Well, there are some changes in our casa. Physical and otherwise.

An old IKEA sofa got my brain producing lots of different cliches including “you never really appreciate a good thing until it’s gone” (which is not entirely true since I’ve always appreciated that particular sofa, just never quite as passionately and melodramatically as I did yesterday when we disposed of it). The sofa got me thinking about how objects become extensions of us, of beings, and assume some of the weight that we carry (no pun intended) and how we project emotions onto them. This floral IKEA sofa, was the waiting spot where my dog Louisa would sit by the window and wait for me.

IKEA

My temporary contract job came to an end on Friday, which stirred mixed emotions in me. It’s a strange feeling going back to a spot that you thought was temporary (my stay at home), yet I am overwhelmingly excited about regaining my time with the kids and focusing a bit more on writing while I continue looking.

I’m super excited to tell you that today I become one of Yummy Mummy Club’s regular bloggers. YMC is one of Canada’s leading parenting websites. You can find my first post with 5 lessons I’ve learned from going back to work as a second time mom on my new blog The Designated Grownup. I would greatly appreciate it if you could stop by and comment. New kid syndrome and all.

7 thoughts on “Exciting News

  1. Wow, that’s awesome. I follow Yummy Mummy Club on Twitter. Inspiring.

  2. Lisa @ The Golden Spoons says:

    Congrats on the new gig!!!

  3. lrconsiderer says:

    Sounds like you’re doing really well, Katia🙂

  4. Well done you! Yummy Mummy and a new couch. I’m happy for you, Katia.

  5. The photo is so intriguing: the flowered sofa in the snow.

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,990 other followers

Do you think that they're trying to tell me something? #momsofinstagram #lifewithboys #mobsofinstagram #goodnight #goodnightsleeptighttakesonawholenewmeaning #parenting #random
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
