Twisted Lessons From 90’s TV Shows – Throw Back Thursday With Netflix

36

May 22, 2014 by Katia

“Imagine a life without texting!” said a friend’s six-year-old son to her.

“I don’t have to!” she responded.

HA!

#mommywin

#butisitreally

#oknevermind

Well, believe it or not, I may know my way around a payphone myself, but I’m tempted to not make 5 Year Old privy to this information. When I try to imagine having to explain at some point that my high school papers were not typed on a computer but written by hand, I’m instantly Throw Back Thursdayed to my own childhood and my mom reminiscing about school and inkwells.

#thatmomentwhenyourealizeyoureasoldasyourparents

Like every other old person you and I know, I also believe that my inevitable exile to non-cooldom once my son hears about my penned school projects is going to be premature and I’m going to refuse to accept it.

Life was beautiful in the 90’s, sons, I’ll tell him and his 21-month-old brother, and if you don’t believe me just Netflix it! The 90’s were way cool. Yes they were. Yes, they were!! YES THEY WERE!!! Here are some shows mommy enjoyed as a VERY young teenager (think tween) but they’re much more than that. They’re windows into mommy’s soul, fashion choices and evolving taste in men. They are Aesopean Must Watch Fables accompanied by life lessons. Check out this listicle, sons, and internalize the lessons. After all, this is what parenting’s all about.  You’re welcome.

#mommywin

*walks away while still ahead of the game. Boys start throwing stuff at each other and make poop references*

90s

1. Beverly Hills 90210 – Life Lesson: They will always remember that you’re from Minneapolis, but don’t you worry, honey, guess who’s going to look like an idiot when it snows?

2. Party of Five – *tries to unstick Anna Kendrick’s Cups from her head*

3. Buffy the Vampire Slayer – If I only teach you one thing, let it be this.

Despite what Hollywood tells you, kid, vampires do not make good life partners.

4. X Files – Sometimes it WAS the alien.

5. Fresh Prince of Bell Air – YES THEY WEEEEEEEEEEREEEEEEEEl! *cringes*

6. Dawson’s Creek – Never. EVER. Pick. Up. The. Ice. Cream. Off. The. Car. Floor. Board. When. Driving. NEVER. #scarredforlife.

7. Twin Peaks – Sometimes you just won’t get it. Move on.

8. Family Guy  – Don’t trust the baby with the British accent.

***

What are your favourite “old” shows and what “life lessons” did they teach you?

If you’re feeling nostalgic, you can find ALL of the mentioned shows on Netflix Canada.

If you’re feeling super-truper-beams-are-gonna-blind-me nostalgic here’s some related reading from other bloggers:

9 Life Lessons From Beverly Hills, 90210 – Left Brain Buddha

Things I Liked About the 90’s – Sand in my Toes

36 thoughts on “Twisted Lessons From 90’s TV Shows – Throw Back Thursday With Netflix

  1. Everything but the cabbage stick says:

    Ha, ha, I really enjoyed this. I loved Dawson’s Creek!

  2. Jean says:

    I used to have Dawson’s Creek parties with my friends when a new episode came out. I’m half terrified to watch it because I like to believe teens are extremely innocent beings now that my kids are within 10 years of becoming…THEM.

  3. bethteliho says:

    You know what’s weird? I didn’t watch any of those shows except Buffy and X-Files. Where was I and what the hell was I doing with my time? I think I watched Friends and Frasier. Will and Grace. That was the 90’s, wasn’t it? I guess I was waiting tables and missing evening shows. You know what I love about the 90’s? Grunge. Everything about it.

    • Katia says:

      I watched a lot of shows that are not on Netflix yet. My favourites were Felicity and Friends and Seinfeld, of course. I also wrote another version of this post where I wrote about grunge from a fashion prospective. Loved grunge!

  4. Nina Badzin says:

    First of all, it was so fun to think about all of those shows. Lesson from Part of Five for me was: be terrified that my oldest sister might have to raise me one day. *shudder*

    When I moved to Minneapolis all I thought about were Brenda and Brandon.

  5. sarah says:

    Too funny! Especially like the 90210 one!

  6. ksfinblog says:

    sorry pressed the wrong button and got cut off…….. the 90’s shows I can now watch on my smartphone…. imagine that…

  7. I’m a massive buffy fan… And I do have the box set of dawsons creek too. Embarrassing haha anyone remember Ally Mcbeal? That was cool in the 90s.

    • Katia says:

      I LOVED Ally McBeal, but I was concentrating on shows that are on Netflix. Ally McBeal was super fun and original and one of the best 90’s shows along with Seinfeld and Friends. Oh, and My So Called Life!

  8. That was adorable. In an awesome way, not a condescending way. I laughed out loud at the Twin Peaks one. And did you ever watch My So-Called Life? Oh good God, I loved it so much. Sigh. The 90s were a beautiful decade, and I’m kind of sad my girls will never experience the world the way I did then. Great, now I’m depressed…

    • Katia says:

      😀 HAHA, great now I’m depressed too!

      Yes, the 90s were the still somewhat untouched by technology and (another “old people” thing to say) therefore still, *coughahem* somewhat innocent???

  9. ponymartini says:

    I lived for Buffy. I can’t tell you how heartbroken I was when she and Angel did not get together. I am still in mourning.🙂

  10. Whenever we watched a movie set in the 89’s, my mum would listen dreamily to the soundtrack and say, ‘Ah, I remember this song. They used to play it in all the clubs.’
    Old mother. Mother clubbing? Noooo!!!
    Now, I pay extra attention to any pop music I hear, so one day I will have the satisfaction of saying the same thing to my children.

  11. Liz says:

    Loved the hashtag commentary. Haha. Also, loved and still loved X-Files and Twin Peaks. First shows to make me a fangirl. From X-Files I learned you should sometimes quit while ahead. And from Twin Peaks: The owls are not what they seem, of course!

  12. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    This was fabulous, Katia! Sigh though, to having to explain penning papers using actual ink and paper to our kids…
    I lived for 90210 and totally felt Kelli’s pain regarding Dillon vs/ Brandon – what a hard choice (Dillon all the way though). From Melrose Place, I learned that Chinese food is fattening, and that people will be nicer to you if you fake being blind.

  13. Lisa @ The Golden Spoons says:

    Ha! My youngest found this YouTube video where they have done a voice over with the characters from Frozen. She has no idea that the voices are actually from Friends, but she think it’s hilarious!

    • Katia says:

      People who don’t know Friends are really scary.😛 I’ve taught my 5-year-old to sing Smelly Cat and Monica Monica Have a Happy Hanukkah. Couldn’t believe he didn’t know these…😛

  14. Thirtysomething taught me about relationships

  15. purplerose84 says:

    Awesome, love it🙂

Leave a Reply

Between 2014-2015:

BlogHer '13 Voices of the Year Community Keynote Honoree
Scary Mommy
The Epistolarians

Books:

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,989 other followers

Tired. Going from 10 months of staying at home with the kids to full time work is disorienting.  I have to redefine what my involvement in their lives looks like. I have to go dig for my creativity, it's not readily available. I have to make room for friendships that were already pushed to the outskirts of my mommy life. What was previously inaccessible, existing in the "so near yet so far" category - books, blazers and heels - became a staple in this old new reality in a matter of days. Tired and disoriented but also content, supported and appreciative. #momsofinstagram #random #randomthoughts #changes #workingmom #tired #tgif
Donate-a-post-iv
mumsnet
Blogarama - The Blog Directory
Finish the Sentence Friday
